Happy Wednesday! Half-way through the week already!

I wanted to share a quick post today with you about my most favorite way to season foods. I ran across a recipe awhile ago in a magazine for Basil Salt. I have no idea now what magazine it was, but I’m thankful I jotted down the recipe and gave it a try. It’s wonderful! The first time I made a batch of it, I think I was putting it on everything in sight! 

If you have fresh basil from your garden, this is a perfect way to use it up before fall arrives. Once dried, the Basil Salt should last for quite some time in an airtight container. 
IMG_6209

First, place 3 cups of loosely packed basil leaves into a food processor. Then add 3-4 minced garlic cloves, and 1/2 cup of kosher salt. 
IMG_6210

Whiz it all together in your food processor, and it should look something like this. Not so appetizing…yet! 🙂 
IMG_6213

Distribute the mixture evenly onto a parchment-lined cookie sheet, and leave to air dry for 3-5 days. Yes, you read that right….3 to 5 DAYS…it takes a while for all of the moisture to evaporate. During this time, redistribute the mixture several times to ensure even drying. I put ours in a room in the basement with our dehumidifier, and it dried really well. And, here’s the disclaimer…your house will indeed smell like basil and garlic for a few days. Not overwhelmingly so, but just enough to make people think you’re cooking something wonderful in your kitchen! 🙂 

I had enough basil from my garden to do a quadruple batch.

I had enough basil from my garden to do a quadruple batch.

Once the mixture is completely dry, you’ll put it back into your food processor and whirl it all together until it’s the consistency of a coarse-grain salt. Now it’s ready to store in a container, and be used on all sorts of yummy foods. I keep mine in a glass canning jar on the kitchen counter, along with a jar of sea salt and a bottle of extra virgin olive oil. These are my go-to items when cooking, and it’s so nice to have them easily accessible. And, I think they look cute like this, too! 

IMG_6215

My most favorite ways to use Basil Salt…..

*Sprinkled atop scrambled eggs. My morning breakfast has never tasted so good!

*Add a bit to some olive oil in a shallow dish, and use it for dipping artisan breads. 

*Season boneless skinless chicken breasts with the basil salt before grilling. 

*Add a small spoonful to ground beef before forming into hamburger patties. 

Let me know if you try making Basil Salt, and tell me how you like to use it in your kitchen. Happy cooking!!!! 

 

 

