As I sit down to write today, I’m not even sure where to start. This blog that I really do love…it’s kinda taken a backseat lately. Summertime is upon us, and while in a sense it brings relaxed schedules, it also brings about a house-full of laundry, activities, and general upkeep that makes me busier than ever. But I love it!!

So for today…just a quick post with some updates and photos.

 

 

Family trip to the Ledges State Park. So fun!!!

Family trip to the Ledges State Park. So fun!!! We love playing with cousins!

Vacation Bible School! Such a fun week with friends!!

Vacation Bible School! Such a fun week with friends!!

Our neighbor was kind enough to pass along their son's toy tractor to Titus. He adores this tractor! He plays with it constantly, and gives it kisses goodnight before he goes to bed at night. Obsessed with farm stuff? Yes!

Our neighbor was kind enough to pass along their son’s toy tractor to Titus. He adores this tractor! He plays with it constantly, and gives it kisses goodnight before he goes to bed at night. Obsessed with farm stuff? Yes!

We spent most of the morning at The Farmer's Market last Saturday. Dutch letters, fresh coffee, and chocolate croissants...a good morning had by all!

We spent most of the morning at The Farmer’s Market last Saturday. Dutch letters, fresh coffee, and chocolate croissants…a good morning had by all!

My baby boy is big enough now to sit in a big-boy carseat. How is this possible, and where have the last almost 3 years gone?!

My baby boy is big enough now to sit in a big-boy carseat. How is this possible, and where have the last almost 3 years gone?!

 

A fun lunch with friends, and these two girlies got the sillies! :-)

A fun lunch with friends, and these two girlies got the sillies! 🙂

 

Who doesn't love a cool summer evening around a bonfire with family?!

Who doesn’t love a cool summer evening around a bonfire with family?!

If you know us at all, you know Tanner and I love our coffee. Every day. We didn't think it was possible to like coffee more than we do until a good friend made us a latte from his awesome coffee grinder and espresso machine. It kinda blew our minds, to say the least. Seriously...how awesome is this cup of coffee?!

If you know us at all, you know Tanner and I love our coffee. Every day. We didn’t think it was possible to like coffee more than we do until a good friend made us a latte from his awesome coffee grinder and espresso machine. It kinda blew our minds, to say the least. Seriously…how awesome is this cup of coffee?!

 

To end the post today, I thought I’d share about a few instances over the past week that have reminded me how important kindness is. I attended a friend’s Pampered Chef party on Sunday. I smiled when I saw another guest at the show who shared something in common with me, although we’d never met. At 6 foot and 1 inch tall, it’s not often that I look literally eye-to-eye with another gal….this woman was actually taller than I am, and we laughed and chatted together about our lives as tall women. Sounds weird, I know…but it was fun and refreshing to chit-chat with someone “in the same boat.” We both had a choice to either strike up a conversation with each other, or completely ignore each other….I’d say we’re both better off for choosing the first of those two choices.

Another example happened just this morning at the grocery store. As I turned the corner for another aisle, a mom with two young children was blocking the aisle with her cart. She quickly apologized, to which I said there was no need, and then we both giggled as our sons struck up a conversation with one another. I smiled and continued to shop, when I noticed that in her hand was one of my all-time favorite books. A fairly new book, I was surprised to see someone else with it, as I’ve yet to hear of anyone else who has read it. What was going through my head was something along the lines of…”Oh my goodness! I adore that book! You like it, too? You must like it if you’re bringing it to the grocery store, because it’s chocked FULL of fantastic recipes and stories. I think you might be my new best friend. Really. We should get together and have coffee, and talk for hours about this amazing book.” But what I really said (as calmly as I could) was…”Is that Shauna Niequist’s newest book? It’s a great one, isn’t it?” And wouldn’t you know…this woman at the grocery store was just as excited to have this conversation as I was. We proceeded to share with each other which recipes we’ve tried in the book, which ones are our favorites, and we even shared tips with each other about how to improve on those recipes. It was probably the most fun I’ve ever had at the grocery store! And if you’re interested in reading this amazing book, as well…I couldn’t recommend in more highly. It’s amazing. Truly!
breadandwineshaunaniequist

Both of these instances were so much better than the instance at a different store yesterday. Both of my girls had saved for a long time to purchase some items on their wish lists. Armed with their purses and wallets containing their hard-earned money, they made their choices, and stood in line to make their purchases. A teaching moment ensued when the cashier gave them their totals, and we had to count out the correct amount of change. An older woman behind us in line (obviously annoyed by what was happening in front of her) huffed and puffed, rolled her eyes, and shouted out loud for another cashier to open another register. Apparently her time was so much more important than anyone else’s in the store at that moment in time? While I was temped to say something to her, I simply turned around and gave her the biggest, most joyful smile I could muster. It was slightly awkward when she glared back at me, yet I continued to smile. Chances are likely that my smile did nothing to improve her mood that morning, but my guess is she needed that more than she needed a harsh word.

I’ll leave you with this quote from George Saunders that I love.
“What I regret most in my life are failures of kindness. Those moments when another human being was there, in front of me, suffering, and I responded…sensibly. Reservedly. Mildly. As a goal in life…try to be kinder.”

So, friends, what do you say? Try, along with me, to be kinder? There’s a lot of people out there who need some kindness in their lives. Let’s do what my mom used to always tell us when we were small….”Kill ’em with kindness!” 🙂

Blessings to you all today! Hopefully next time it won’t be a whole month before I post again!!

