My kitchen is quiet this morning while I knead the bread dough, and smooth the tops of loaves.
IMG_3412

My heart, not as quiet, is aflame with thoughts of Good Friday, Easter, and The Last Supper.

Jesus, breaking bread with his disciples around the table at The Last Supper, shares His heart and His plan for their lives. My life. Your life.

Jesus, knowing that His disciples would turn from Him during His darkest hour in the Garden of Gethsemane, was filled with joy to share a meal with the people He loved. His love for them, and all of humanity, was portrayed that evening as He broke bread, drank wine, and washed His disciples’ feet.

Jesus commands His disciples to something so simply, yet so profound and sometimes difficult. John13:34 tells us that Jesus said, “A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another: just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another.”

Love each other. His command to love is not a frivolous or superficial kind of love…Jesus commands His disciples to love each other as He had loved them. Love as Jesus loves. Love because Jesus loves.  Oh, the wonder our world would see if we could grasp this commandment and live our lives accordingly!

Some may say that I am reading too much into this, but I find it profoundly wonderful that Jesus chose to share this ever important command to love while gathered around a table, breaking bread, and fellowshipping with those He loved.

Table fellowship. Table love. This is how I believe my heart beats.
IMG_4569

For it is often the simple things in life that can be profound. The mundane that can be the miraculous. How is this possible? Because God, who loves us with a deep abiding love, is the giver of everything. Everything. And in this we can rejoice. In this, we can love.

As I pull hot bread from the oven, slather it with butter, and smooth napkins onto the table, my heart is full. My heart is anxious for the fellowship that will happen around my table this evening. An opportunity to love those around my table, and an opportunity to collectively remember what Jesus did for us on the cross so many years ago.
IMG_3427

So as you gather with those you love this Easter season, may you remember that each and every person around your table, and each and every item of food gracing your table, is a gift. A gift from The Gift, given so that we would glorify Him.

And this Easter season, if you’re finding it difficult to believe in a love so life-changing, I would love nothing more than the chance to talk to you more about it. God loves you. He sent His one and only Son to live a perfect life and to die for you. He loves you, and He wants you to accept His love.

And my table…it may not be huge, and we may often sit crowded together, but there’s always an extra seat. Always. And at my table, I would love to share with you how you can know God’s love personally. It will change your life.

 

