As I sit in the quiet of my living room, steaming mug of coffee resting on the table next to me, and the twinkle of the Christmas tree lights sparkling gently….I’m overcome with conviction. Several recent happenings have brought about the tug at my heart today, not the least of which was this amazing song I heard this morning. Please take the five minutes it takes to watch it. Stunningly beautiful. 

I recently learned that the famous Martin Luther, having an unbridled passion for music, said, “Next to the Word of God, music deserves the highest praise.” And today, I praise God for awakening my spirit through the aforementioned song. 

You see, my heart had been in a stagnant place of defeat recently. I was beginning to let the stress of holiday busyness overwhelm me, and my heart’s focus was misplaced. Upon receiving a somewhat snide comment about a gift I’d purchased, my spirit broke. I cried, and told my husband that I felt as if I give, and give, and give…and that giving had begun to feel unnoticed. Unappreciated. 

And this morning, tears rolling down my cheeks as I listened to the beautiful rendition of “Hallelujah,” I was crushed as I understood that I’ve done the same to God. He has given, and given, and given to me. Gifts undeserved, yet often unnoticed. Gifts flowing from His loving heart, yet overlooked without a breath of thanks from me. And yet He loves me. 

I do not want to overlook or under-appreciate the gifts God bestows every single day. Even amidst the struggles we may face, the gifts are there. They may be tucked away a little deeper, requiring a little searching…but trust me, the end result is worth the search. 

With only three weeks until our Christmas celebrations, there is undoubtedly much to be done. But may we never mistake busyness for importance. May we not overlook the greatest Gift of the season. As cliche as it sounds, Jesus IS the reason for the season. 

May today find you overwhelmed by God’s goodness, and deeply appreciative for the gift of His Son, Jesus Christ. Blessings to you!

