Hello long-lost friends!!

Is anyone out there still reading my blog?! It has been far too long since I’ve written, and I’ve missed it.

I have been reminded this past week or two how some seasons of life are far busier than others. More stressful. Overwhelming. And to be totally honest, we’ve been camped out in that season for a bit. There’ve been several sleepless nights this week, mixed with viruses and doctor visits, and I can’t shake the feeling that it seems my kids are sick all the time the past couple years. I know it comes with the territory with little ones, but it’s still hard. Makes me feel like I’m doing something wrong. I’ve been doing laundry galore and sanitizing my house for the gazillionth time, reminding myself that this season won’t last forever. That one day, while I won’t miss cleaning up vomit or taking temperatures at 2AM, I will miss the extra snuggles that accompany sick children. And I remind myself that these little ones are a gift, and that I can show Christ’s love to them through the way I care for them.

Several loved ones around me are going through some trying times of their own, and my heart hurts for them. I tend to be a wanna-fix-everything-kinda-girl…so it’s hard when I love someone, they’re going through a struggle, and there’s not a single thing I can do to fix it. God is teaching me that sometimes situations can’t be fixed…but people can ALWAYS be loved through their situations. And so I’m trying to love.

On a much lighter note, I FINALLY got my new oven this morning!!! I have been without an oven for a month, and have been pulling my hair out trying to remedy the situation with Sears. Very long story short, they agreed to replace our broken oven, rather than continue to fix the control board that kept frying itself. I cannot wait to bake something today!! I think I realized even more this past month how much my heart beats for nourishing my family through food and fellowship around the table. I have SO missed being able to prepare some of my family’s favorite meals, and I’m so thankful to have an oven back. Now here’s hoping it works as it should!
20131121-085315.jpgSpeaking of family meal-time around the table…have you seen the show Duck Dynasty? Okay, so I know I’m way behind on this, as it’s been all the rage for a while, but I have had no desire to watch it. After all, what on earth would I find entertaining about a bunch of red-neck bearded men?! Eat your words, Emily…because it’s actually quite entertaining. And the part I love most? Every episode wraps up with the camera crew filming this Jesus-lovin’ family sharing a meal together around one large table. Heads bowed, thanks given, and time shared with each other…it seriously brings tears to my eyes. Every.single.episode. In a perfect world, I’d have a house big enough for a GIGANTIC farmhouse-style table. A table big enough to seat my entire extended family, and a kitchen large enough to cook up a feast for them. Every week. That would make my heart (in the words of Phil Robertson), “happy, happy, happy!!”

I would LOVE to meet the Robertson family from Duck Dynasty. To tell them my appreciation for their testimony of Jesus’ salvation, and maybe even share a meal with them. How cool would that be?! If you haven’t seen their testimony on the popular site, I Am Second, I’d encourage you to take the time to watch it…head over to http://www.iamsecond.com, and take a look…the link to their story is on the homepage. It’s awesome!

I hope you’re all doing well! I’ve missed you, and hopefully I’ll find my blogging groove again soon. Blessings to you!!!!

 

