Happy Friday!!

The weather here today is sunny and mild, and the weekend looks to be fabulous for finishing up some outdoor projects before we welcome the cold, winter weather. I broke the news to Tanner this morning that I’d need him to climb into the attic this weekend to retrieve Christmas decorations. He’s not so sure that’s the best idea this early in the season, but I’m ready. Bring on the Christmas music and egg nog! We’ll see what happens. ๐Ÿ˜‰

It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything about one thing most of you know I love…thrifting! I thought I’d share a few items that I found this week at our local thrift store.

These cute little wooden signs were only a quarter each. They match the color scheme in my dining room perfectly! Not a bad addition for 75 cents!

Image

I found these black metal wall hangings today, and debated on whether or not to purchase them. Thinking that they might add a little charm on either side of the kids’ chore chart I’d made a while ago, I “splurged” and spent the $5 for the set. I’m glad I did…I like it!
Image

I also hit the book jack-pot today at Goodwill. I found two books that have been on my Amazon.com wish-list for a while, but I couldn’t bring myself to pay full-price. For around a dollar each, they were ย great finds! I also found an entire set of nearly perfect condition Tonka truck books that I’ll put away to give Titus for Christmas.

Titus chose a hard-back book at the thrift store today, and hugged it the entire time he sat in the cart. On our way out of the store, he said, “I love this book. Thank you, Mommy.” That’s the first time he’s ever said thank you, unprompted, for something we’ve bought him. You’ll have to excuse me while I get a little sappy, but that meant so much to me today. While most often I’m completely content with where we are financially, sometimes it bothers me that we can’t always afford to purchase brand-new things for our children. But today showed me once again how often God meets our needs in the most unexpected ways, and I couldn’t help but be filled with joy. God has been providing in some other amazing ways for Christmas gifts for our children this year. I cannot wait to tell you about it someday! He never ceases to amaze me!

How about you, friends? I know there are some of you who love to thrift shop, as well. What are you favorite stores? Our town has a new consignment/thrift store that is having a storewide 20% off sale tomorrow. I just might have to go check it out! And if any of you venture out shopping this weekend, have fun! I hope you find some wonderfully fun surprises! ๐Ÿ™‚

