I awoke this morning (in a very chilly house, as I refuse to turn on the furnace yet!) with the word “satisfy” on my heart and mind. As I drifted off to sleep last night, I had prayed specifically for each person that helped to make this weekend one that definitely satisfied my soul. Despite having two children with coughs and runny noses, we were able to enjoy a very full and blessed weekend!

Over the course of three days, we had the opportunity to spend a lot of time with friends and family members. The older I get, the more I realize just how precious these moments really are.

One of my favorite ways to spend time with those I love is by enjoying time together around the table. Whether that be a sit-down dinner like we enjoyed on Friday evening and Sunday afternoon, or a hot dog roast around a campfire on Saturday, eating a meal with loved ones tops my list of favorite things to do.

IMG_4569

Just as much as I enjoy a meal with loved ones, I love sharing stories with those close to me. We listen to and share a lot of stories around our house, as my children always want to hear a story from when my husband and I were young. I received a very nice compliment this weekend when I was told that the decorative items in my home seem to tell a story. I love that so much, because they do…so many items in my home tell a story so near and dear to my heart of how God has relentlessly loved and cared for our family. Our church is currently going through a series called, “The Story.” My husband, over the past year, has been working closely with the tech team at our church to videotape and edit the stories of individuals in our church. These stories are then shared with the congregation, as well as through various internet venues, in hope that these individual’s stories will resonate within the hearts of others. And that is exactly what stories tend to do…they pierce our hearts in a way that moves us to change. And I love that.

I want to share a few longer quotes from a fun little book I read last summer. It’s called “A Little Salty to Cut the Sweet” by Sophie Hudson. These quotes hit the proverbial nail on the head, and I love how she has put into words what has been on my heart.

once you’re there (at the table) you sit down, and you settle in, and you remember. You share your stories. For the first half of my life, probably, I thought that the whole point to the table was the food. But now that I’m older, I know better. And it’s comforting, somehow, to recognize that while the food may be what brings us to the table, it’s not the main course by a long shot. More than anything, I think, the food is an invitation to see what the Lord is doing, to “taste and see that the LORD is good” (Psalm 34:8). Because when people gather around the table to break bread, the Lord gets to work. He knits together our hearts, strengthens our bonds, and connects our narratives. The table is where He links the generations, where He prompts us to join hands and bow heads and remember and laugh and pass our stories back and forth to each other. 

if our generation wants the phrase “legacy of faith” to mean anything at all, then we have to share our stories with our children. We have to write them down, we have to say them out loud, we have to put away our phones and close our computers and linger at the table long after the meal is over. We have to make much of what God has done in our lives and what He continues to do. After all, why in the world would we keep our firsthand experiences with His faithfulness, His grace, His kindness, His mercy, and His joy to ourselves?

Isn’t that great!? I love it, and I would say “Amen!” to everything she said.

I can’t think of a better way to end the weekend than to have the opportunity to stand on stage at church last night and lift praises to the Lord through song and worship. I could’ve sang the lyrics “Oh Praise Him!” and “Alleluia!” a thousand times over again. Alleluia, indeed! So much for which to praise the Lord!

And what better way to share those praises than through stories around your table?! Try it. Tonight. You don’t have to cook a five-star meal or share an earth-shattering story. Just open your heart to those around your table, love with abandon, and share what’s on your heart. It does wonders, as I’ve learned, and the results are more than worth the effort.

Happy story-telling, dear readers! Blessings to you!

