As of last night, I can now say that I have made a pie crust. From scratch. Call me weird, but that excites me! My sister and I enjoyed our evening together as we learned just how tedious pie making can be. I will never eat a piece of homemade pie again without thoroughly appreciating the love and attention that went into making it.

20131011-132657.jpg

While ever-so-carefully placing the lattice-work dough onto the top of the pie, Amanda remarked, “You know what? Pillsbury isn’t so bad!” ๐Ÿ™‚ But after tasting the three types of pie offered at the class, we both admitted that Pillsbury was no comparison!ย 

20131011-132611.jpgSeveral of you had asked me to share my thoughts about the class, which was offered through a local small business. I was impressed with the class, and I’d love to take another one! She offers various classes, each with a different theme. She’s very friendly and knowledgable, and the atmosphere was fun and relaxing. I will say that the price of the classes is a bit steep, but I understand the need for that, considering the amount of time and materials provided with the class.

While I am far from an expert on any topic kitchen-related, I did have a short daydream during the class last night. While rolling my pie crust on the expansive table in the classroom, I envisioned what I’ve been dreaming a lot about lately. I keep telling Tanner that I wish we could move the wall of our dining room out a ways…enough to house a gigantic farmhouse-style table where I could seat every person in my extended family, plus more. Enough room to serve a feast to those I love, all sitting at one table. Together. And maybe even enough room to one day (in the LONG future) teach a class or two? It’s a long shot, but a dream nonetheless.

To end the post today, I have a cool story to share with you. Those who know me well know that I like to garage sale. Last year around this time I went to a garage sale, hosted by an amazing woman who had turned 90 years old the week prior. She immigrated from Germany when she was a young married woman, and she had a ball telling me story after story about items in her sale.

For whatever reason, I felt compelled a year ago to send her a thank you note in the mail. I told her that I very much enjoyed our chat, and that the items I bought from her were being put to good use. That’s it…never expected to hear from her again.

Last night, during the pie class, my phone rang. Listening to the voicemail later, I was floored to hear this woman’s aged voice. She wanted to thank me for my kind note (from a year ago!), and tell me that she was holding another garage sale this weekend…and that she wanted me to come.

Titus and I ventured to her sale this afternoon, and the look on her face when she realized I had come was priceless. She shared more with me about her life. Her husband died of brain cancer, and she has been alone for almost 30 years. She thanked me for showing an interest in her beautiful hand-made items (some came all the way from Germany…some hand-made by her mother 100 years ago!) Her voice was downcast as she told me that none of her grandchildren have interest in any of her family heirlooms. ย She hugged me as I left, thanking me for coming, and asking if I’d be interested in coming back this winter to look through her German crystal and china. I am not in the market for crystal or china, yet I told her that I’d love to come and take a look. I’d love to hear the stories behind her prized items, and I’d enjoy the conversation. We’ll see if she calls me again. ๐Ÿ™‚

I don’t know why God led me to write her that note a year ago. I don’t know what led her to keep that note for a year. But I do know that I learned a valuable lesson today. I learned to follow a prompting in your heart, even if it seems odd. Trust me, it felt weird to send a thank you note in the mail to a woman I’d only met once. But I felt like I was supposed to do it for some reason. And I’m glad I did. I learned, too, that listening to others’ stories means the world to them. She was lonely and needed someone to talk to, and I was blessed along with her as I lent a listening ear.

And so I challenge you, and myself, to look for opportunities to bless someone. It doesn’t have to be anything grandiose…sometimes the greatest blessing comes in the least expected ways.

Have a great weekend, everyone! Blessings to you!

