Hello everyone!

Do I still have blog readers out there?! While I’ve been thinking of lots of things to blog about, the actual writing process has eluded me lately.

Here are a few random happenings around our house lately…

20131010-133536.jpg

No, we do not make him wear a helmet while playing outdoors. This was his choice!

Titus’ imagination and vocabulary are exploding lately! He is all boy, through and through. He’d live outside if we let him, preferably on a farm with large equipment to ride. He knows more about tractors than any other two year old I’ve met, and I love seeing his excitement when he plays with tractors. His passion for life is contagious, and I am continually learning to see the world through his eyes. On days that I choose to take the time to enter into his world, I too see the passion for life that he has. I love him to pieces!

As of Monday, we are in the midst of potty training. Β I was content with him being in diapers a bit longer, as potty training is not a fun ride. But on Monday morning he asked for underwear. What?! I thought he’d be interested for a short period of time, but I was wrong…he’s doing great, and so proud of himself! We ventured out to my sister and brother-in-laws to help with harvest this week. I told Titus that some boys have to go potty in the field when they’re harvesting, because there’s no toilet in the field. The look on his face was hilarious as he remarked, “Mom, that is so, so, so rude!”

20131010-133636.jpg

Wearing a head light flashlight on the night we lost power at home for the entire evening.

Nadia is doing fantastic in Kindergarten! She is my little social butterfly, and has made so many new friends at school. It is so fun to see her learning, and I am blown away by how quickly she’s beginning to read. Her tender spirit and care for other people is convicting and challenging to me at times. We have a family member whose birthday is more than a week away, and Nadia has already lovingly prepared a card for her. Carefully taped onto the card is a $1 bill from her money jar. She is always asking to give her “bills” to other people. I see a true spirit of generosity and love in her heart, and I thank the Lord for that. While at times her happy-go-lucky attitude and my Type-A attitude clash a bit, she is teaching me so much about what it means to love others and live in the moment. Who would’ve ever thought a parent could learn so much from a child?!

We live right next to the school, and one evening last week had lost our house key while playing on the playground. Jayda was so excited that she found it at recess the next day at school!

We live right next to the school, and one evening last week had lost our house key while playing on the playground. Jayda was so excited that she found it at recess the next day at school!

My little girl is turning into a little lady, right before my very eyes. Jayda is loving school, and has overcome some of the anxiousness that she was experiencing earlier in the school year. Her reading is flourishing, and we’ve been able to enjoy a couple “reading dates” together lately. I love that she loves to read as much as I do! She recently began the “junior girls” program at church, and she’s really enjoying it. I’m often amazed at her maturity, and wondering when on earth she got so big so fast?! Our personalities were cut from the same cloth, and I see so much of myself in her. Sometimes that’s a good thing, and other times I cringe when I see her imitating my bad choices. I love watching the young lady she’s becoming, and I cannot wait to see what God has in store for her!

As mentioned before, I love to read. L.O.V.E Β Sometimes I get myself into trouble just looking at all of the books on Amazon that I’d like to read. Right now, I’m making my way through this book that I checked out at the library. It’s a fun read, and has inspired me to further develop another favorite past-time of mine…cooking!
bookI’m still really enjoying baking bread, and I’m learning more about it each time I bake. I think I’ve found a great sandwich bread recipe, and more recently have enjoyed making focaccia and rustic bread.

20131010-133557.jpg

 

20131010-133619.jpg

 

Tanner is encouraging me to try a little side business with baked bread. While I think that sounds fantastic and fun, I’m not sure there’s going to be a large market for homemade bread. What do you think? Would you purchase homemade bread, knowing that it was made with wholesome ingredients and not with artificial ingredients often found in store-bought bread? That’s my favorite part of bread baking…I control what goes into it, and I love being able to make it fresh and wholesome for my family.

My sister and I are taking a pie baking class this evening. While I have loved to cook and bake for a very long time, I’ve never once made a homemade pie crust. I’m so excited to learn some tricks and tips tonight, and I think Tanner is even more excited for the edible results of the class. πŸ™‚

Earlier this week a friend of mine posted a quote on Facebook from Charles Spurgeon. I love the idea behind this quote…inviting Christ into every nook and cranny of our lives, and enjoying all of the blessings He provides. I’m learning to see the extraordinary in the ordinary.

“Have your heart right with Christ, and He will visit you often, and so turn weekdays into Sundays, meals into sacraments, homes into temples, and earth into heaven.”

That’s it for today. Just a few updates and thoughts. I hope you’re all doing well! Have a wonderful rest of your week. I’m off to enjoy this gorgeous weather we’ve been having lately. Count your blessings, and enjoy each and every one of them.

 

 

