Hey everyone!

Happy Wednesday to all my readers. I hope you’re enjoying your day, and finding the blessings that abound. 

When my alarm screeched at 5AM today, I wished I had one of those lift beds or chairs…you know, the kind that lift you up and out with the push of a button? After alternating two new workouts, my muscles refused to bend properly this morning. My entire body hurts in places I didn’t know could hurt. I have taken five ibuprofen today. Yep, five. And I still hurt. Ugh.  I’m hoping I can actually do my workout tonight without crying! 

Wednesday mornings at my house are fun and busy. The schools have in-service on Wednesdays, so class begins an hour later than normal. That means, theoretically, that my children could receive an extra hour of glorious sleep each week. But in reality, it means they wake up earlier on Wednesday mornings. Every.single.week. Why?! I don’t understand it, but we roll with it. We roll with it with extra kids that hang out here before school while their parents head to work. We party. And we eat. This morning’s menu: a table full of whole wheat pumpkin muffins (with chocolate chips), a bowl full of steaming sausages, and frosty glasses of orange juice. And, an extra cup of coffee for the momma making all the food. I have come to love Wednesday mornings…even if it means we’re all up earlier than we need to be. 

Because it’s too blasted hot around here to do anything outside, I decided today would be baking experimentation day. The Lord has, through some very lovely people in my life, provided me with some wonderful new kitchen tools. I have been learning to make all of our bread, and I recently started grinding the wheat I use to make the bread. I ground thirty-two cups of flour today, and then stirred, mixed, and measured to my hearts’ content. Here is a small portion of what I baked. The rest is in the freezer, still in dough form. I’m experimenting to see if I can freeze the dough so that we can have fresh-baked bread anytime we want by just thawing and baking the loaves.

Image

How cute are the little loaves of bread?! They are perfect for miniature-sized sandwiches in the girls’ lunchboxes.

I am having so much fun trying new bread recipes! I’m hoping to perfect a recipe well enough that I could possibly sell bread someday. Is that a crazy idea? Maybe. But, it’s an idea that’s been rolling around in my head for a while.

I was so thankful to the friends and family on Facebook who posted a link yesterday to a mother/daughter event coming to a local church this winter. It’s called “Secret Keeper Girls.” An odd name, I’ll admit, but an event that speaks to young girls about a topic so near and dear to my heart…I bought tickets for my daughters and I within minutes of watching the promo video. I will not get involved in posting thoughts about the whole Miley Cyrus performance this past week, but if you know anything about what went on there…you know that teaching Biblical truths about modesty and beauty are all the more important in today’s society. Young girls today are surrounded with lies about their worth, beauty, and what true love and acceptance is. This is a topic for another blog post entirely. I’m very much looking forward to this Christian based event in November when my girls and I can have a wonderfully fun time, while learning solid truths at the same time.

That’s it for today. Just a few thoughts and happenings from my computer to yours. As always, thanks for reading. It was so wonderful to get a few comments from you on my last blog post. Your comments were very helpful and much appreciated. I always love to hear from you! 🙂 See you soon!

