Good Monday morning, friends! I hope you all had a fun and festive 4th of July weekend.

On the morning of the 4th, on the way to spend the day at my parent’s house, I spotted a garage sale. Knowing it would be wrong to pass up a possible treasure, I locked the doors to the van with the kids waiting inside, and ran in to see what was available. Seeing nothing of interest, I did stop on the way out to admire a beautiful antique cedar wardrobe. Loving all things vintage and antique, I couldn’t walk by without admiring it. I am, by nature, a curious person. I wondered how old it was, if the ugly veneer someone placed on the outside could be removed, and how much they wanted for it. I had no intention of asking about price…after all, I despise when garage sale items have the infamous “Make An Offer” sticker on them…I was guessing this lady wanted at least $100 for this piece. Besides, where on earth would I put it even if I had the amount of money I assumed she wanted for it?

As I ran my fingers up and down the cedar lining, the woman at the sale told me that she’s make me a really good deal on it if I wanted it.

“Good deal?” I asked. “What kind of good deal?”

“$20?”

WHAT!?!?!?!?!? My head was spinning. How could I let that kind of deal go?! What would Tanner say?! Heck, I could turn around and sell it for more than $20! Knowing I needed to make a decision quickly, I told her I’d be back within an hour to pick it up!

And now, dear readers, I need your help. You might remember a while back I asked for opinions on color choice for a coffee table/end table set I found and wanted to utilize in our family room. The voting took place, I went with your advice, and painted the set blue. And I loved it. For two months. And then I realized I didn’t love it so much. The room is too small for a coffee table, evidenced by frequent bumped heads and stubbed toes on the table. The blue was fun at first, but soon the room started to feel too colorful. Being the room we spend the majority of our time in, I was also feeling the need for storage. I wanted to hide the books, toys, DVD’s, and blankets that clutter the room. Image

And so, on a whim, I had my dad help me move the wardrobe I purchased into the corner of the family room. This thing is HUGE, and has tons of storage possibilities. Now keep in mind a couple things…it needs desperately to be refinished. There’s a lot of beauty lying underneath that nasty veneer. My dad and I would have a ball refinishing this together, so that’s definitely a draw, too. I love a good project with my dad! 🙂 It also needs a new handle and some TLC. But what I want to know…do you think it looks goofy in here? Should she stay, or should she go? What’s your vote?

Image

IMG_0603

I flounder back and forth…one day I like it, another day I don’t. What I do LOVE is the storage possibilities is has. We could hide a gazillion things in there! So really, cast your vote. I’ll let you know what I decide.

