Summertime, summertime, sum-sum-summertime!!!
IMG_9700I’m a very blessed momma to be able to spend the summer with these three. Love them!!!
IMG_9656 IMG_9653IMG_0585 It finally feels like summer around here, and we’ve been busy enjoying it. And by busy, I mean a whole new kind of busy. The house is never clean busy. Laundry galore busy. Constantly mediating sibling rivalry busy. Preparing for my sister’s wedding busy. Constant trips to the swimming pool busy. Can’t hear myself think busy. Did I mention the messy house and extra laundry?

People will often comment that I’m so lucky to be able to stay home with my children. And while I don’t disagree with that, I wonder if they understand what it’s really like. Many sacrifices are made when moms choose to stay at home. It’s a daily choice to surrender extra time, money, and sometimes sanity that could be found if I worked outside the home. And it’s a lot more work than you might imagine. Visions of stay-at-home moms lounging leisurely beside the pool while the children play are no further from the truth than pink pigs flying through the sky. It doesn’t happen, folks. At least not at this stage of my life. There. I feel validated. May all visions of watching soap operas and eating bon-bons promptly leave. 🙂

A few posts ago I mentioned that I had a change in decoration headed my way, and I thought I’d share it with you today. Several weeks ago I was graciously given my grandmother’s china set along with her crystal goblets. I couldn’t have been more excited! They’re vintage, gorgeous, and they’re family heirlooms…what better reason could I have for wanting a place to display them?! Thus began the hunt for a small china hutch for my dining room. I found one on Craigslist for $40, and it looks like it was made just for my dining room! And the best part? I sold what was previously on that wall for $100, making a $60 profit on my beautiful new china hutch!

Here’s the before picture. Sorry…super fuzzy picture. Don’t look at it too long…it might hurt your eyes! 🙂
DSC02606And, the after picture.
IMG_9953The size is just perfect for displaying my family’s dinner wear, and the color matches our dining room table perfectly. I couldn’t be happier!!
IMG_9954And now I’m in the mood to host a dinner party!!

I hope you’re all enjoying your summer!

