Whirlwind. 

That would be a good word to describe the past few weeks around here. 

Activities, both fun and obligatory, have filled our schedules. On top of that came unexpected events. Injury to Tanner’s knee laid him up for a week or so, only to be piggy-backed by all five of us getting the stomach flu. Again. 2013 will go down in history for our family as the year of vomit. Serious. 

As recurring thunderstorms pound our soil with rain, I keep holding my breath, praying and hoping that we won’t have a repeat of 2010. Oh, that awful day when our overnight houseguests found themselves literally floating on their air mattress in our flooded basement. Have I ever told that story? Ugh…I will someday. It was awful, and I’m hoping we will never repeat that night. 

Sometimes I find myself wondering when life will slow down. And then I chuckle to myself as I realize that I already know the answer to that…never! 

And yet, amidst the craziness, I’m finding time to explore my passion for both decorating and cooking. It keeps me sane. It’s good for me.

As I write, I’m anxiously awaiting the arrival of the UPS man. Today he’ll be delivering this beauty that I purchased with my birthday money. 
Image

I’ve been drooling over Le Creuset cast iron enamel cookware for a very long time. But its hefty price tag has made it impossible to add to my kitchen repertoire. This last weekend my mom and I stopped in a gourmet kitchen store, only to find that Lodge Cast Iron, the company who has made all of the cast iron I currently have, makes an enameled line of cast iron. I had no idea! The best part? It’s significantly cheaper, especially when purchased with our Amazon Prime membership. This beautiful fire-red 6-quart Dutch oven was purchased on Amazon for $45…a tiny fraction of its Le Creuset counterpart, which costs just under $300! I’m no fool…I understand that in general, you get what you pay for. However, the reviews this Dutch oven received were great, and considering that I could never own one for $300, I’m willing to give this one a try. I can’t wait to use it!

It should come as no surprise that I’ve got another change in household decor up my sleeve. I’ll post about it soon, hoping it all goes as planned. Suffice it to say that Craigslist came to the rescue, providing me with an inexpensive piece of furniture that will showcase some very special items I was recently given. I hope to pick it up from the gal who sold it within the next day or two. Assuming everything goes as planned, I’ll blog about it as soon as it’s done.

Today is my last day of childcare for the school year. It always brings mixed emotions. While I’m very much ready for a break, I do love these kiddos, and I will miss them. I’ll also miss the extra income childcare brings. Summertime often gets “lean” around here with finances, but God has always provided in those lean times. Anxious to see how He’ll provide this summer. 

That’s it for today. Just a few random thoughts. Thanks for sticking with me and reading my thoughts. You’re all very dear to me! 

 

