Hmmm…where to start?

The lack of blogging last week was due to my very grumpy mood for much of the week. I just didn’t feel like blogging…quite honestly because I was overcome by emotions that would not have been pretty to write about. Someone said something that hurt my feelings, and I chewed on it all week. I’ll tell you what…chewing on something that long leaves a really bitter aftertaste. Just as mouthwash clears an aftertaste, I used heartwash (also known as lots of prayer and Scripture reading) to rid the aftertaste.

And then I sat down Monday to blog deep thoughts…only to turn around to a kitchen floor deep in water.

And so I continue to learn. Learn that things don’t always go my way, and I need to roll with the punches a little better.

Due to aforementioned flooded kitchen floor, we bit the bullet and purchased a new refrigerator last night. I’ll tell you what, those things are NOT cheap! Who spends $3,000 or more on a refrigerator?!?! We chose one of the least expensive ones…not my top choice necessarily, but one that will suite our needs just fine. And still, it cost an arm and a leg. Honestly. Ridiculous.

I smiled when I got the mail today. This arrived.
Image

A new subscription to Bon Appetit Magazine. I can’t wait to take in all the beautifully photographed recipes, and experiment with them.

The two other items were FREE, and I couldn’t be more excited! The top is an assortment of seeds for growing culinary herbs. I’ve had a few herbs in the past, but nothing to this extent. I can’t wait to figure out how to grow them, hopefully keep them alive, and cook with them.

The small box on the bottom right is a sourdough bread starter I received for free. I’ve been wanting to learn to bake sourdough bread and other baked goods for a while. Excited to start! I think it’s maybe a bit tricky to grow and sustain the starter, so hopefully I don’t kill it.

I’ve been doing lots of reading, thinking, and praying about health and wellness lately. That is for another blog post entirely (or maybe six or eight)! These items that came today…they’ll certainly help in my somewhat new culinary thoughts and aspirations. 🙂

Can I tell you all something? Thanks for reading my words. Thanks to those of you who leave comments on my blog. Thanks to those who encourage me to keep it up. While I often flounder to keep in going and interesting, this blog for some reason really does mean a lot to me. More importantly, each of my readers means a lot to me. So thank you. I appreciate you!

