Amidst the news of yesterday’s bombing in Boston, the reason for my post today is so trivial. So trite.

Yet, at the same time I find it familiar. Comforting. The simple act of creating nourishment for my family and sharing that with others brings joy amidst pain. Offering nourishment to those in need, I fear, is an aging tradition. Something our grandmothers did weekly, yet something I fear my children’s generation will not see.

You see, I desperately want to bake countless loaves of bread today and deliver it to those in Boston. Cut thick slices of English Muffin bread, slather it with butter and jam, pour them a cup of coffee or tea, and listen…listen to their stories of what happened yesterday. Just listen. And eat. And listen some more.

Homemade food, shared with others, brings a sense of unity and togetherness. It speaks a love language all of its own, and I am learning to speak the same language. Several of you have asked for the recipes for the English Muffin Bread and Granola Bars I blogged about yesterday. I am by no means a recipe developer, so these recipes are not original to myself. However, I’ve tweaked them a bit for our tastes, and I’ll share with you those recipes.

I hope to do more posts like this in the future. Blog posts about food, family, and friends, and the ties that bind each together. My hope is that you’ll enjoy experimenting with these recipes, and certainly please share them with those you love. You might be surprised just how much joy one recipe can bring!

ENGLISH MUFFIN BREAD
Image5 1/2 cups warm water
3 packages RAPID RISE yeast
2 Tablespoons sea salt
3 Tablespoons sugar
6 cups bread flour
5 cups all-purpose flour

Mix the water and yeast together in a large bowl until it becomes a bit foamy. I used my 6-quart mixer and this recipe fills it to the top. Use a big bowl! Add the remaining ingredients and mix until just moist. The dough will be sticky and messy…that’s okay. 🙂

Divide dough into four well-greased loaf pans, cover and let rise until the dough reaches the top of the pan. I usually sprinkle the tops of the loaves with cornmeal, too.

Bake in a 350 degree oven for approximately 35 minutes, then brush the tops with melted butter, and bake an additional 5-10 minutes until golden brown. Don’t forget this step…the added butter is what makes this bread so good!

Cool completely and slice. This bread is meant to be toasted.

DARK CHOCOLATE CHERRY GRANOLA BARS
Image

2 eggs, room temperature
1/2 cup honey
1/2 cup Sucanat or brown sugar
2 Tablespoons coconut oil
2 Tablespoons butter
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 1/2 cups old-fashioned rolled oats, toasted (spread on pan and bake 15 min @ 350)
2/3 cup dried cherries, chopped
1/2 cup cashews, chopped
dark chocolate, chopped…not sure how much I used? Maybe 3 ounces?
4 Tablespoons flour

Melt the butter and coconut oil. Add in the eggs and blend. Blend in the sugar, honey, salt, cinnamon, and vanilla. Mix in the flour to thicken it a bit. Mix in the oats, cherries, cashews, and chocolate.

Spread into a well greased 9×13 pan, and bake at 325 degrees for 30 minutes. Edges should look slightly brown when done.

Immediately cut into squares using a plastic knife…metal will make it too sticky and it will fall apart. Cool completely, and store in an airtight container.

