In recent days, Facebook status updates and news headlines cry aloud for equality. Acceptance. Fairness. 

While the purpose of this post is not to argue the political aspect of these cries, I cannot help but relive today in my heart…many, many, many years ago. Where were the cries for fairness then? Did the political leaders of that day have no shred of moralism or compassion?

As Roman soldiers beat Jesus and hung Him on a rugged cross to breathe his last breath, was there any remorse?

As the crowds cried out, “Crucify Him!”, did they understand the eternal impact of this day? Did they understand that Jesus willingly chose to die for them
Image

As ironic as it sounds, this day in history, as gruesome and bloody as it was, was the ultimate love story. While the seemingly unfair and unacceptable actions toward Jesus are heartbreaking, they were completely necessary for heart-mending. 

Hebrews 9:22 tells us that, “Without the shedding of blood there is no forgiveness of sins.”

Jesus’ death, planned by God from eternity past, paved the way for love unmatched by any other love. He paved this way to love for me. For you. Unfair and brutal as His death was, He willingly walked the road to Calvary for the sake of love. 

And so today, my heart grieves while it rejoices. Is that possible? It is. It grieves about the agonizing death of my Lord and Savior on this day many years ago. And while my heart, like the hearts of Jesus’ followers long ago, grieves of His death…the rejoicing that comes on Easter Sunday is almost unfathomable. It’s Friday…but Sunday’s ‘a comin’! And, oh, what joy is found at the empty tomb on Sunday. He is not dead, He is ALIVE!!! ALIVE FOREVERMORE!!!! 

For anyone near the Des Moines Metro area, I’d love to invite you to the Easter season services at my home church, Saylorville Church. A Good Friday service tonight at 6:30 PM will prepare for the celebration that will take place Easter Sunday, with services that morning at 8:30 AM and 10:15 AM. Free breakfast, catered by my amazing dad, will be offered before each service on Sunday.

I can’t tell you how much I’d love to see you there. How much I’d love to celebrate with you. If you do come and are new to Saylorville, please find me and let me know you’re there. My husband tells me I’m not hard to find…I think I’m the only woman in that church standing at over 6 feet tall. 🙂 

Really, truly…I hope to see you there! 

Saylorville Church Information
http://www.saylorvillechurch.com
6429 NW 6th Drive
Des Moines, IA 50313

