I don’t normally blog on Tuesdays, but I’m feeling inspired. Maybe because I’m feeling the need to do something different than cleaning up vomit and washing soiled bedding…you know, the normal exhausting stuff that comes from a whole family having the stomach flu. 😦

I’ve been thinking about something lately. Have you ever been forced to eat something you really didn’t want to eat? Forced. Against your will? I have. Numerous times. In fact, it’s always the same food over and over again. Maybe you’ve heard of it…it’s called eating crow. No, not the literal bird. Although, at times I’ve wondered if the black feathered creature would be more palatable than the idiom to which I refer.

Eating crow…defined by Wikepedia.com as “humiliation by admitting wrongness or having been proved wrong after taking a strong position.”

I’m not entirely sure why this has been on my mind the last few days. Maybe because of several comments I’ve recently heard that made me silently cringe, wondering if those individuals would one day have to “eat crow.” Maybe it’s because I so clearly saw myself in those comments. The memories of saying similar things are very clear in my memory, as is the aftertaste of the crow that I ate sometime later.

You see, so often we think we have it all figured out. Whether we’d admit it or not, we think we can map out the very happenings of our lives. Maybe we realize we can’t choose each and every detail, but we think we know precisely how we’d handle each situation. Are you with me? Or maybe I’m the only one arrogant enough to have had these silent conversations with myself?

Each stage of life brings with it the temptation to look longingly at the next stage, daydreaming and preplanning its every detail. While there is nothing wrong with planning and dreaming, the danger comes when we take strong stands on something that we’ve never actually experienced. Let me clarify…I do believe there are things worth taking dogmatic stances on, specifically issues to which the Bible clearly speaks. But too often we set our hearts on things unexperienced, not realizing that until we are in the situation, we have no idea how to truly handle it.

James 4:13-16
Come now, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go into such and such a town and spend a year there and trade and make a profit”— yet you do not know what tomorrow will bring. What is your life? For you are a mist that appears for a little time and then vanishes. Instead you ought to say, “If the Lord wills, we will live and do this or that.” As it is, you boast in your arrogance.”

I don’t think there’s ever been a time in my life that I feel more passionate about this topic. I’ve felt the stares of people without children while my son howls and throws a fit. I know they’re thinking that their child will never act that way. How do I know that? Because I was once that young person, mentally planning a future form of discipline that would most certainly work better than whatever form that parent was using.

I’ve felt the stinging guilt that comes from an unkept house, dinner burning in the oven, kids screaming through the house, and myself wanting to lock myself in the bathroom for a few moments of uninterrupted time. What happened to the picturesque wife and mother I once imagined?

I’ve made the walk of shame into the pharmacy for what seemed like the millionth time that season. Yes, my children were sick again. Apparently the vitamin and supplement regimen I had so carefully orchestrated wasn’t the key to perfect health.

I’ve been the wife so tired at the end of the day that serving and loving my husband seems like a task far too large. I never imagined that in premarital counseling.

Yep, lots of crow eaten in my life. None of it has ever tasted remotely good.

The reason for my post today? Mainly, I just needed to write. To move my thoughts from my head, to my heart, and through the keyboard. To maybe (hopefully) challenge and encourage someone reading this as it has challenged me.

GRACE

A five-letter word so badly needed amongst friends, family, and everyone we know. Let’s extend grace to one another in each season of life, realizing that when our allotted season arrives, we could use the guidance and loving advice of those who’ve walked the same path.

I’ve eaten my fair share of crow, folks. Trust me when I say if you can avoid it, by all means do! I’m trying to avoid eating more crow by carefully and prayerfully approaching the next season of my life. Trying hard not to have it all mapped out, but to instead hold the hand of someone who’s walked it. Praying for guidance each step of the way.

And one more thing…remember that picturesque life I once imagined for this season of my life? I’m so glad it didn’t happen. Although this season might often seem messy, crazy, exhausting, and downright difficult, I’ll take each messy moment as it’s meant to be. As a favorite blogger of mine often says, life is…

Holy
Ordinary
Amazing Grace

Blessings to you as you move through your day today! I truly love and appreciate you all!

