Happy Friday!!!! What weekend plans do you have? My totally awesome sister and her equally awesome fiancé have offered to take our kids for a good part of the day tomorrow so that Tanner and I can go out. WooHoo!!!! We plan to go out to eat, do a little clothing shopping, and go to a coffee shop (or maybe two or three!). So excited!!!

For today’s Friday Favorite, I’m sharing with you about a favorite corner of my home. I know, it sounds kinda weird. Just stick with me here. 

Image

You see, I feel like everyone’s home should reflect the values of the individuals residing in it. I think a home should be cozy, inviting, and should visually speak to all who enter it. This certainly does not mean a home has to be large, expensive, and intricately decorated….mine is certainly not. And yet, it still speaks to me and I love it! 

There are several areas of my home that I’d consider my favorite. One of those is the corner of our dining room. I absolutely love our dining room…not because of how it’s decorated or the furniture it contains, but because of what happens in this particular room.

*Family conversations abound at dinnertime. 
*Morning breakfasts are sometimes shared with extended family.
*Cups of coffee are sipped as friends share advice and reminisce. 
*Meals are savored and we’re reminded of God’s provision for us.

I would be remise not to mention that crazy things happen here, too.

*Food is thrown from the baby’s highchair tray.
*Milk is spilled, just as everyone has finally sat down to eat.
*Sad stories are shared, and emotions run amuck. 
*Instead of being savored, sometimes the food is picked at and complained about. 

And yet, I love this room all the same. If walls could talk, these walls would have a lot to say. In a room bustling with the busyness of everyday life, I have purposefully placed reminders in this room of what I try to hold near and dear to my heart. Truly, they’ve been placed here for me…because I need constant reminders of what it most important in life. But I hope that they can be an encouragement to my readers and to all who enter my home. Enjoy a peek at what I enjoy…and would you, sometime, please join me in this room for a cup of coffee? I’d like that. A lot. 

Image

Image

Image

 

