Ah, Wednesday. The week is half over, and that means we’re even closer to Spring skies and warmer weather. Bring it on!

Most of you who know me understand that I love to cook, bake, and experiment with new kitchen techniques. I just picked up a copy of this book at the library, and I’m drooling!

Image

I cannot wait to try some of these recipes. Homemade cheese. Homemade graham crackers. Homemade berry syrup. Homemade butter and yogurt. Call me weird, but these things intrigue me!

Speaking of intriguing, I’m currently reading another book that touts the benefits of baking without traditional white or wheat flour. The author recommends such flours as barley, quinoa, and almond flour. I placed my co-op order this morning, and added a bag of almond four to my online cart. I’m anxious for the co-op delivery next week so I can try it. It is simply skinless almonds that have been finely ground. Supposedly, it adds a rich and almost buttery flavor and texture to baked goods, not to mention the fact that it packs a powerful punch of protein (which cannot be said of traditional flour). I’ll experiment a bit with it, and let you know what I think.

How about you, friends? What are some of your most favorite homemade pantry or kitchen items? Have you ever tried alternative flour in baking or cooking? I’d love to hear!

Well wishes to you all this Wednesday!

