Hello friends! Good to see you again! πŸ™‚

If I may, can I start this post with a special prayer request? I just spent two hours in the doctor’s office with this sweet 5 year old girl, holding her hand while they did a chest x-ray, blood draw, urinalysis, and other tests. The poor girl spiked a fever yesterday and has been quite miserable today.Β IMG_3003

The results of the tests are a bit cloudy and inconclusive. For now, she’s resting at home and taking antibiotics for what is believed to be a bladder/urinary tract infection. She has struggled with infection like this in the past, and was once hospitalized for 5 days on IV antibiotics. We’re praying that if that’s what it is, we’ve caught it soon enough to keep it from getting that serious.

However, not knowing for sure if that’s the cause of her illness, her doctor has a small suspicion it could be appendicitis. Her symptoms line up with the early stages of appendicitis, and we’ve been given strict instructions to take her straight to the ER if her symptoms worsen or if she starts throwing up.

So, could you please pray for her? Pray for me? I prayed for extra patience today, and it looks like God has given me a perfect opportunity to practice extra patience and care.

For today’s Wellness Wednesday post, I wanted to talk about skin care. Our skin is the largest organ in our bodies, and how we care for it is very important to its appearance and to our overall health. I’ve often struggled with acne, and unfortunately have scars to prove that. About a month ago it reared its ugly head again, and I decided it was time to try something I’d been hearing about….

The Oil Cleansing MethodUnknown

For years and years, I’ve used regular over-the-counter facial cleansers. I’ve tried various ones, always frustrated that nothing solved my pimple problem. I’m almost 30 years old…why do I still have zits?! I heard about this method called The Oil Cleansing Method. In short, the idea is that most facial cleansers strip our skin of its natural oils, requiring our pores to work over-time and clog, causing break outs. The idea behind The Oil Cleansing Method (OCM) is that if we replenish our skin with the oils it desperately needs, skin problems will diminish.

I tried it with skepticism and reserved excitement, and I’m surprised to say that I love it!!!! My skin is by no means perfect, but it has made some huge improvements. You’d think that adding oil to your face would cause it to be more oily…but it has proved to be the opposite. I no longer have to wipe off the shiny oily spots on my skin my mid-afternoon, and my blemishes have diminished significantly. Oh happy day! πŸ™‚

You can read all about this method HERE. It’s a great website, giving you specific instructions about which oils to use, how much to use, and how to apply it. I won’t take up any more of your time on this blog…if you’re interested, just hop on over to that site, read the instructions, and give it a try.

Besides the wonderful improvements I’ve seen, I also love this method because it’s cheap and it’s natural. I love putting only two natural ingredients on my face, as opposed to over-the-counter cleansers with a whole list of chemicals I can’t pronounce. And let me tell you, this is EXTREMELY economical. The oils that are used are not hard to find, they’re inexpensive, and they’ll last a long time once mixed for your cleanser.

If any of you decide to give this a try, leave me a comment and let me know what you think. Give it at least a week before you decide if you hate it or love it…it took me a few days to get the hang of it and to see results.

Thanks for reading, friends. Be well this Wednesday, and I’ll see you back here on Friday!

