Happy Friday!!! I’m looking forward to the weekend, and excited to spend time with family and friends. I’ve procrastinated on this post until just a few minutes before my kids come home from school, so this might be jumbled and quick…here we go!

Two things for today’s “Friday Favorite.”

1) A Thankfulness Tree
Have you ever read Ann Voskamp’s blog, A Holy Experience? If you haven’t, you should. She’s amazing! She posted a link to some Thankfulness paper leaves to make a Thankfulness Tree, and I made ours yesterday. Each leaf has a Bible Verse about thankfulness, and we plan to read one each night at supper and then discuss the things we were thankful about that day.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have no visions of this turning my children into ever-present thankful human beings; but, I do foresee it helping to turn our focus a bit more to thankfulness and fullness of joy. There will still be grumbling and complaining…of that I’m certain. But in this month of Thanksgiving, what better time to try and focus on the gifts we’ve been given?

2) I have a favorite cooking trick I wanted to share with you. Most of my readers will remember that I am slightly obsessed with a grain by the name of “quinoa.” I kinda try to add it wherever I possible can into our menu. Some of those adventurous meal plans have not gone over so well…others have. This trick is one that has been a huge hit in our house!

We love tacos at our house! One pound of ground beef with taco seasoning just wasn’t cuttin’ it for this family of 5. We try to buy very good quality ground beef, which means the price per pound is a bit steep. I was too cheap frugal to start buying two pounds of meat for each taco meal we have. So, I decided to try and disguise some quinoa in with our meat to stretch it further and to add nutrition. The result has been great, and we all love it!

I’m not going to lie and tell you that nobody could even tell it was in their taco meat. They knew. It looked different. But, quite honestly, I thought it tasted exactly the same.

 

I don’t really have a real “recipe” for it. Here’s what I do…brown one pound of ground beef, and add a bit more water and taco seasoning than normal. I’d say I do about one-fourth more than usual. Add in a cup or two of already cooked quinoa, and continue simmering the meat mixture as normal. Spoon into taco shells, and enjoy! 🙂  Seriously, this is totally worth trying. It cuts down the cost of a meal significantly, and adds a punch of nutrients. We love it, and I hope you do, too! Let me know if you try it, and what you think.

Blessings to you all! Have a great weekend!

