It’s post-election day, and I can almost hear the groans of unhappy voters throughout the nation. Others are soaring high with excitement, but most people I’m acquainted with are disappointed at the results and fearful of what the next four years hold.

I understand, and my heart is uncertain about the future, as well. But, guess what? We’ll never be certain of the future, no matter who leads this country. We’re not made to be creatures who find comfort in certainty and security. We’re frail and fragile human beings, made to find our comfort in Jesus Christ alone.

As I awoke this morning, I was reminded of the lyrics to one of my favorite old hymns:

  1. When peace, like a river, attendeth my way,
    When sorrows like sea billows roll;
    Whatever my lot, Thou has taught me to say,
    It is well, it is well, with my soul.

    • Refrain:
      It is well, with my soul,
      It is well, it is well, with my soul.
  2. Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
    Let this blest assurance control,
    That Christ has regarded my helpless estate,
    And hath shed His own blood for my soul.

The United States of America might not look the same to my children and grandchildren as it has to me. That does sadden me. BUT, the GLORIOUS truth of God’s unending love for His children will never change. That will look the same to many generations after mine, and in that I find great peace.

And so today, my Wellness Wednesday post is a bit different. I find my wellness not in physical health. Not in national security. Not in anything on this earth. I find my wellness in knowing that I was made a child of God when I was seven years old. I made the decision to love and follow the Lord Jesus Christ, and that decision has never changed. I find my wellness in knowing that whatever happens today, tomorrow, or in the next four years…it is WELL with my soul.

Blessings to you, my dear readers. I really do love and appreciate each of you!

 

