I wish I had a good excuse for my lack of blogging on a regular basis. I don’t.

I have every intention and desire to blog three times a week, and for a while, I was successful. Lately, however, I’ve had “blog fog”…a serious inability to put into words what’s running through my mind.

So, if I still have any faithful readers out there, bear with me. I’m trying! 🙂

I’ve got several things on my mind for “Wellness Wednesday.” First of all, things in the good ‘ol weight loss department are about as stagnant as ever. While I haven’t stepped on the scale often, I have weighed myself a few times, only to find that it’s right where it was before. Bummer. Good news? It hasn’t gone up! I never lost these last 10 pounds after Nadia was born, and apparently I’m continuing that trend after Titus’ birth. Maybe I’m just at a new ideal body weight? I don’t know. All I do know is that I’m not stressing and obsessing about it like I have in the past, and I’ll just continue trying my best to be the healthiest I can be.

Speaking of healthy, I took a photo with the Instagram app yesterday of the homemade granola I made. Several have asked for the recipe, so I thought I’d share it with you all. I love, love, love granola! We all love it, and use it in lots of ways…stirred into yogurt, sprinkled on top of vanilla ice cream, served as a breakfast cereal, or used as an on-the-go snack. Here’s the recipe:

6 cups rolled oats (NOT quick oats. Use the real old-fashioned rolled outs)
1/2 cup Sucanat (or, you could use brown sugar)
3/4 cup wheat germ
1/2 cup shredded coconut
1 cup chopped nuts (I use a combination of almonds and pecans)
ground cinnamon
2/3 cup honey
2/3 cup olive oil
a few tablespoons of molasses (I don’t know how much…I just throw some in there)
2-3 Tablespoons pure maple syrup
2 teaspoons vanilla

Combine the oats, Sucanat, wheat germ, coconut, and chopped nuts. Add enough ground cinnamon to your liking (I usually don’t measure…just dump some in!)

Combine the honey, olive oil, syrup, vanilla, and molasses in a separate bowl. Add the wet mixture to the dry ingredients and mix until well combined.

Spread on two cookie sheets, and bake in a 300 degree oven for 25-35 minutes. If you like your granola really crunchy like I do, you may have to bake it a bit longer. Stir the mixture several times during the baking time.

IMMEDIATELY transfer onto parchment paper on the counter to cool. If you leave it too long on the warm baking sheets, it gets gooey. At this time, you can add raisins, or any other dried fruit if you’d like.

Cool completely and store in an airtight container. It will last for several weeks. If you like it as much as we do, you’ll want it in an easy to access spot in your kitchen because you’ll want to munch on it all the time. I decided to try to display it in a cute way on top of our refrigerator.

I used one of my large glass sun-tea jars. I simply tied a cute colored ribbon around the lip of the jar, and added a cute little chalkboard tied on with a piece of jute twine. It didn’t cost me a single cent, and it looks so much cuter than storing it in a plastic bag. In the words of my daughter, “Easy peasy, lemon squeezey.” 🙂

Happy Wednesday, all! Be well! 🙂

 

