Happy Friday!! Happy FALL Friday! The colors of the leaves around my neck of the woods are amazing, and I’m loving the change of season!

It feels good to be blogging again. The majority of this week was taken up by time spent trying to mend my bad back. I felt it pull on Sunday, and by Monday afternoon, I couldn’t stand up straight. 😦 Thankfully, after two trips to the chiropractor and lots of stretching, I’m getting back to normal.

The topic of today’s Friday Favorite post is sheet music. Yep…sheet music. Kind of a weird thing to write a whole blog post about, but I love this stuff!

A year or so ago, I ran across three OLD hymnals at an antique sale. They were perfect…aged just right so that the edges were turning brown and the pages were tinted yellow. Perfect patina! Not knowing what I’d do with them, I snatched them up in a hurry.
They sat on my shelf for a while as mere decorative books, until I decided that the beauty of the pages needed to be displayed. Over the past few months, I’ve used them to decorate some pieces around my house, and I love the way they turned out. Take a look:

I turned an old serving tray (that once had an ugly pig painted on it) into something pretty and useful.

An old window turned picture display. I didn’t want to over-run it with photos, so every other pane was filled with old sheet music.

What to do when you find a cool lamp, but the lamp shade is nasty and stained? Cover it with pieces of torn-up sheet music, of course!

What better place to incorporate sheet music than around the piano?! Our piano bench was scratched almost beyond repair on the top of the seat. I covered it with sheet music, and gave it new life!

I have read about, but never used, a product called Modge Podge. I knew that this was what I needed to adhere the sheet music to all of these projects, but I was a bit surprised by its price. Once again, Pinterest saved the day, and I read a blog post about how to make your own Modge Podge.

In a bowl, mix together a 1:1 ratio of white Elmer’s glue and water. Use this solution to glue the sheet music to the object you’re covering. Once it’s covered, apply the solution to the entire area, on top of the sheet music…it acts as a sealant.

Trust me, it looks weird while you’re doing it, and you’ll think you’ve totally ruined your project. It will look all cloudy and goopey, but as it dries, it will dry perfectly clear. I set my projects in front of a box fan on low to dry them quickly and evenly.
So, there you have it…my latest little projects. πŸ™‚ If you ever run across any old sheet music, snatch it up…there are a gazillion things you can do with it!

Enjoy your weekend, everyone! See you next week!

