Happy Monday Morning!

By 8:30 this morning we had already eaten breakfast, packed lunches, been to the dentist, and dropped kiddos off at school. Whew…nothing like starting the week in fast gear!

I’m thankful this morning for a great weekend with family. We surprised my dad with a birthday party, and had a great time!What a blessing my dad is to our family! Love him!

I’m thankful this morning for my three little gifts from God. I love them more each day!

Fishin’ with Great Grandpa. She’s quite the fisherman!

My climbing little monkey enjoying some playtime at the park.

Very much enjoying his chocolate cookie!

I’m so thankful for the cooler fall weather this morning. As I’m typing this post, I’m enjoying a pumpkin spice latte….yummy! The best part? It didn’t cost me $4 from Starbucks, and I made it in the comfort of my own home. So this morning, I’m thankful for a homemade version of a favorite fall treat. Enjoy! 🙂

Homemade Pumpkin Spice Latte

Pumpkin Spice Syrup

1/3 cup pumpkin puree (fresh or canned)
1 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/4 cups water
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon cloves
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

 Combine all ingredients in a saucepan and bring to a boil. Cook over medium heat, stirring occasionally to keep syrup from burning.
Let mixture cook together until it becomes syrup-y and begins to coat the spoon (for about 10-15 minutes), then remove from heat.
Refrigerate in a heat-proof container. The syrup will thicken a bit in the refrigerator, but will become syrup-y again when heated.

To make the latte, heat 1 cup of milk and 3 Tablespoons of pumpkin spice syrup in microwave or on the stovetop. When heated, either place in blender and blend until milk is frothy, or place in a glass jar with a tight fitting lid and shake like crazy until milk is frothy. Add 1/4 to 1/2 cup VERY strong coffee (I make mine at least double strength), and stir to combine. Sit back, relax, and enjoy! 🙂

Blessings to you today, friends! Happy Monday!

