It’s been far too long, friends! Over two weeks with no blog posts…can I really call myself a blogger?!

We’ve been transitioning from the fun of summer to the routine of school year over here. While I enjoyed our summer immensely, the scheduled routine of the school year makes this momma’s heart happy, too.

My beautiful second grader!

1st Day of School!

I’ve got a major project going on over here. I call it “Project Organize My Life.” 🙂 Seriously, I’m in a major mood to clean, purge, organize, and simplify. If my friend Mandi is reading this (which I bet she is!), she’ll find it funny that I’m reading the exact same two books she recently blogged about. I guess friends think alike and read alike! 🙂 These two books are helping me with my Life Organization Project. Okay, now that we’re all caught up :-), onto the Wellness Wednesday post.

Can I tell you that while I still haven’t lost all the weight I’d like to lose and I’m still not in the dress size I’d like to be in, I feel a certain sense of freedom? Ever since I purposed to stop obsessing about my weight, I feel free…free from counting calories and points, free from the dreaded obligation to exercise, free from feeling guilty for eating something “forbidden” on my “plan.” It’s wonderful!

I still eat healthfully, but I don’t feel guilty for the occasional indulgence of something fun. I still exercise, but don’t make myself feel guilty for missing a day or two.

While this approach may not be the fastest way to weight loss, for me it’s the most peaceful and most enjoyable. Have I lost mass amounts of weight? No. But, my clothes are fitting looser, and I enjoyed buying some shirts in a smaller size last week.

I by no means have it all figured out. Just last night, in a moment of stress, I ate far too many of the cookies I bought “for the kids’ lunches.” 😦

We’re still on a path toward health around here, but it’s becoming a much more enjoyable path lately. I’ll leave you with one of my new favorite recipes. It involves none other than my most favorite grain: quinoa. Enjoy!

Mini Ham & Cheese Quinoa Cups

Makes 28 mini cups

Ingredients:

2 cups cooked quinoa (about 3/4 cup uncooked)

2 eggs

2 egg whites

1 cup zucchini, shredded

1 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese

1/2 cup diced ham

1/4 cup parsley, chopped

2 Tablespoons parmesan cheese

2 green onions, sliced

salt & pepper

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and mix to combine. Liberally spray a mini muffin tin with non-stick spray and spoon mixture to the top of each cup. Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until the edges of the cups are golden brown. Let cool for at least 5 minutes before removing from the mini muffin tin.

