My heart is full this morning as I reflect on the happenings of life.

It’s full of wonders both big and small.

I wonder how a God so magnificent could look on me with love and save me from my sins?

I wonder how a God so mighty could bless me with a place to call home, and with family members to fill it?

I wonder how a God so perfect and sinless could continue to gently lead me and teach me, even though I fail Him time and time again?

These things make my heart swell with thanksgiving and praise to Him! These things make me want to shout for joy for all He’s done, and teach my children to do the same.

But then, my heart is overcome at news of a sweet family whose 18-month old baby girl has recently been diagnosed with an inoperable cancerous tumor. As this mama gives her baby girl over to the medical staff for test after test, she also nurtures her unborn baby, due most anytime.

My mind starts to go places that my heart knows it shouldn’t. I start to question how a loving God could allow something so unfathomable to happen? Why must this family suffer so? Why must cancer invade so many homes and families? Will my family have to walk this dark path sometime?

As I reflect on these thoughts and feelings, I am reminded that God is indeed good all the time. While things like cancer don’t seem to be a part of a good plan, I must trust what Romans 8:28 says, “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”

So, I ask anyone who is reading this to please pray for this sweet family who is facing insurmountable obstacles right now. Their names are Randy and Julie Hall, and their sweet baby girl is named Taylor. They have a Facebook page set up for updates and prayer requests. You can view it here: http://www.facebook.com/PrayingForTaylor

Today, I plan to snuggle my kids a bit closer and thank the Lord for every minute He gives me with them. Today we will laugh and giggle, and I will choose to live in the moment with them.

Today, I will be thankful.

