Six months ago Tanner put in for some time off around our anniversary date. We’d be celebrating nine years, and we wanted to do something fun. He scheduled Friday and Monday off, and we planned to spend a long weekend in either Chicago or Kansas City. We haven’t actually traveled somewhere just the two of us in FOREVER, and we were so excited!

Fast forward a few months, and some unexpected financial things made it too tight for us to be able to swing a weekend trip. No big deal, we thought…roll with the punches, right? So we planned a fun family four-day weekend, including a lunch and shopping date on Saturday for just the two of us.

To celebrate our anniversary, I made a platter of goodies to take to Tanner at work and stopped to get one of his favorite drinks from Starbucks. The kids and I delivered them to his workplace, only to find that we’d stopped at the busiest and most inconvenient time of his day. No big deal… roll with the punches, right?

Tanner came home from work Thursday with a 103 degree temperature.Β  Happy Anniversary to us! No big deal…roll with the punches, right?

Friday was supposed to be a family day at the local Aquatic Center. The kids were SO EXCITED! What actually happened? Tanner was sicker than the day before, and Jayda was running a temperature with body aches and chills. No big deal…roll with the punches, right? Hmmm…that rollin’ with the punches was getting harder now.

I decided to make the most of the day, and took Nadia to the pool while the sick ones napped at home. While putting sunscreen on Nadia, some skinny little teeny-bopper in her two-piece kept staring at me…yes, my dear…this, too, is what you could look like after birthing three children!! It ‘aint always pretty! 😦 Mid-way through our pool date, I started feeling really yucky. Now I was the one with a 102 degree temperature and chills. Still trying to roll with those punches, but it was getting tough.

Saturday was supposed to be our date day. What actually happened? Three out of the five of us spent the day miserable and sick. By now I was feeling really frustrated.

This morning was spent with our whole family at Urgent Care. Diagnosis? Bronchitis.

So, we’re sitting around home AGAIN, wishing that we could take the kids to the Omaha Zoo tomorrow like we’d planned. Absolutely nothing about the past five days has gone according to plan. I was rolling with the punches at first, but to be brutally honest, I’m not rolling so well with them now. I’m fighting feelings of selfishness.

All of you moms out there know how hard it is when mommy is sick, and that it’s even harder when both parents are sick. The housework and demands of a family don’t just stop, even though all you want to do is lay on the couch.

Normally, I try to keep my blog posts upbeat and positive. But, today, I’m just being real. Today has been hard. Maybe once we’re all feeling better I can escape for some time away. I am usually not the type of mom who “needs” alone time, but after these past few days, I think I need a bit of an escape.

So, there you have it…my “venting” for the day. Momma said there’d be days like this, there’d be days like this my momma said. My momma just never told me how hard those days could actually be! Momma, please tell me I’m not the only one who has struggled to not be selfish when these days come?!

 

