Okay, so I’m a day late with this post. Better late than never, right?! 🙂

My baby boy turned 11 months old yesterday. How is he so big already, and where did the last 11 months go?! I am getting so excited to have his birthday party. I think the theme I picked will be a fun one! Onto the reason for this post…

I have unfortunately not lost any weight this week. I have been exercising more faithfully; however, I think I’ve been eating more than I need to. I seriously think I play mind games with myself and convince myself that I should eat more for dinner because I worked so hard exercising. I wouldn’t want to starve myself now, would I?! Yeah, that would be the reason the scale didn’t move, and the one thing I plan to focus more on this next week. Portion control is my biggest challenge by far. So, for the next week, I want to cut my portions in half, try to be content with 1/2 of the food I’m currently consuming, and see if it’s enough to nourish my body while dropping some weight.

I recently downloaded the Kindle version of this book, and I’ve been reading it on my husband’s iPad. The title caught my eye, and it’s contents sounded interesting. While I started this journey to wellness in order to lose weight, I also started it with the wellness of my whole family in mind.

For some reason, the French culture interests me. I am not very far into the book, but what I’ve read so far is helping to shape my view of health and wellness. I’ll plan to share more on my blog as I get further into the book. For today, I’ll share two things I’ve learned and/or been challenged by.

1) French families eat REAL food.
Amen to that! While I want to be healthy and lose weight, I am not willing to do it by eating sugar-free jell-o, low-fat yogurt, and non-fat milk. French families eat rich desserts with real sugar, full-fat cheeses with fresh baguettes, and buttery croissants. The key? They eat MUCH smaller portions.

2) French families make a BIG deal about dining. Eating a meal is not just about stuffing some food in your mouth, only to hurry on to your next appointment. Quite the opposite. In France, eating appears to be more of a ceremony. According to the author of this book, a French family will rarely eat on an “undressed table.” The dinner table is usually “dressed” (as they call it) with a tablecloth, real dishes, and candlelight. This sets the mood for the family to fully enjoy each other’s company as they partake of their meal. The people surrounding the table are more important than the food on the table, and the meal should be lingered over and enjoyed together.

Now, I’m not naive enough to think that with three small children we will have enough time to linger over long drawn-out meals. The reality at our house around dinnertime is that everyone is hungry, getting tired, and somewhat grumpy. However, I plan to implement some of these things to help calm the atmosphere so we can enjoy our meals together more as a family.

On this dreary, rainy night, I plan to “dress” the table with some of our nicer dishes, light a candle, and enjoy some homemade pancakes drizzled with real maple syrup served along with some farm-fresh scrambled eggs (made with real milk and real cheese!) And, I plan to only eat 1/2 of what I normally would. Here’s hoping it works! 🙂

Blessings!

Emily

