After much contemplation, I’m starting what I hope will become a weekly or at least bi-weekly post on my blog. I’m calling it Wellness Wednesday. What it really should be called is Weight Loss Wednesday, as my current attempt to lose weight is what sparked this idea. But, hopefully I’ll lose the weight soon, and I can continue to post on Wellness Wednesdays about health-related things other than weight loss.

I have had what I’d call a life-long struggle with weight issues. I started junior high in 7th grade wearing a size 18 in Women’s clothes. I’ll never forget the day (while shopping at Layne Bryant) that the size 18 jeans I tried on were too snug. I wanted to crawl into a hole and stay there. I was so ashamed.

Needless to say, my popularity level in junior high was not so great. Standing at 6’1″ and weighing 250 pounds made me a giant (literally) target for many jokes. I remember so vividly being handed a handwritten note from a boy in grade school. A note from a boy?!? What could it say?! I was mortified to open it and find written “Call 1-800-96-Jenny.” Yep…while some girls were passed secret admirer notes, I was given notes telling me to join Jenny Craig. I know first-hand how cruel kids can be, and sometimes those words and jokes still hurt.

Fast-forward to 8th and 9th grade. My Aunt asked me if I’d be interested in doing a Bible Study with her at church. It was a Biblical weight-loss study. I honestly was not overly thrilled about it, but I knew something had to be done about my weight problem. I went with her to the first study, and my heart was immediately changed! For the first time in my life I began to understand that God cared about me in every way…even down to the very fact that my eating was not glorifying to Him. There is so much more to this story, and maybe I’ll share more someday. For now, suffice it to say that through the Biblical teaching of this program, I lost 100 pounds in one year! I experienced a new-found freedom like I had never felt before!

Over the course of the next several years, I kept the weight off and enjoyed life like never before. It was amazing! I never thought I’d get married and be able to wear a beautiful wedding gown from the normal section rather than the plus-size section!

Fast-forward several more years. After Tanner and I got married, I put on a few pounds. I wasn’t overweight, but starting to feel uncomfortable. Fast-forward two more years, and I gained over 50 pounds with my first pregnancy. Now I was really uncomfortable! Thankfully, I was able to take off all of that weight after Jayda as born, but things have not gone as smoothly in the weight-loss department with my second and third pregnancies.

I am at a point in my life now that I weigh more than I have since initially losing the 100 pounds I lost. Sure, I weighed more during my pregnancies, but I’m talking postpartum weight. It has been so challenging to lose the extra weight I gained with Titus, and I’m starting to feel like I might get handed another 1-800-96-Jenny note soon!

So, bring it back full-circle…that’s why I’m starting Wellness Wednesday posts. Blogging is a fantastic outlet for me, and I’m hoping that by making myself vulnerable and transparent, I’ll be held more accountable to my actions. I have so many goals when it comes to health and wellness. First and foremost, my goal is to lose 20 to 25 pounds. There are so many clothes in my closet that fit me when I was that size, and I really want to dust them off and give them another shot!

So, there you have it…there’s my confession that things are about to change, and if anyone out there is remotely interested in reading about my journey, stay tuned on Wednesdays. Even if nobody reads it, posting about it will hopefully be good “therapy” for me and allow me to process my thoughts and actions a bit.

I’m off to scramble my egg and spinach omelet, drink the first of many glasses of water, and begin my first Wellness Wednesday!

Many blessings to you all today!

