Happy Friday!!!

Today’s Friday Favorite is a recipe I was sent via email. I decided to give it a try this week, and I’m SO glad I did! I’ve eaten it for lunch every day this week, and I’m still not tired of it!

This recipe for lunch, coupled with trying really hard to watch what I’m eating for each meal, has helped me lose 2 pounds this week. Not a huge amount, but definitely a step in the right direction. Lots more weight to lose, but it was so encouraging to finally see that needle on the scale move in the right direction!

Enjoy this recipe, give it a try, and let me know what you think. I think next time I may add more spices, as it was a tad bit bland. I topped it with extra salt and pepper, but I think some added spices in the mix would be good next time. Enjoy!

Avocado Dressing (Next time I’d half this recipe, as it made a lot more than was needed for one chicken salad recipe).

Ingredients

  • 2 avocados
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1 scallion (white and light-green parts only), thinly sliced
  • 1/4 cup packed fresh parsley leaves
  • 1/4 cup packed fresh mint leaves
  • 3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup water
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper

Directions

  1. In a food processor or blender, combine avocados, buttermilk, scallion, parsley, mint, lemon juice, and water. Season with coarse salt and ground pepper and pulse until smooth.


    Avocado Chicken Salad

  2. Ingredients

    • 3 1/4 cups shredded cooked chicken (from 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts)
    • 2 celery stalks, finely chopped
    • 1 large shallot, finely chopped
    • 1 avocado, diced small
    • 3/4 cup Avocado Dressing
    • Coarse salt and ground pepper
    • 4 large slices sourdough bread, toasted

    Directions

    1. In a medium bowl, combine chicken, celery, shallot, avocado, and dressing. Season with salt and pepper and toss to combine. Serve on toast.
