Merry Christmas!!! Can you believe it’s only a few days away?! I must admit…I sure wish we were having a white Christmas. I love these beautiful warmer days we’re having, but I do miss the snow at Christmastime. Maybe there’s still time for some snow?! 🙂

This Christmas season has been so unique at our house, and we’re loving it! This is the first year we’ve done an Advent calendar, and the girls are having so much fun with it. Each day they open a box that contains three things:
1) An ornament-sized book containing parts of the Biblical account of Christmas. They are learning so much!
2) A small trinket, toy, piece of candy, ect…something fun!
3) A piece of paper revealing the family activity of the day. We’ve had fun doing so many things: sleeping under the Christmas tree, drinking hot cocoa in front of the fireplace, driving around to look at Christmas light in our jammies. Lots of memories made this month!

The Christmas story seems so much more real and alive to me this year. I keep listening to this song by Point of Grace, and I’ve realized why it seems so different.

This is the first Christmas that I have a son, and I cannot stop thinking of Mary, Joseph, and sweet Baby Jesus in the stable that night. My own labor and delivery of Titus is fresh enough in my mind that I keep replaying that night in my mind, and then imagining what Mary must have felt delivering the King of Kings and the Lord of Lords in a barn stable! It just seems so much more real this year!

Many evenings spent rocking and feeding Titus have brought a new awakening in my heart to the spirit of Christmas. As I stare at his big beautiful eyes, I realize just how much I love him. I would do anything for him. Then I realize that God loved His Son, Jesus, even more than I love Titus. I wonder how painful it was for God to send His ONLY son to be born, and then to die…and for what? For my sins. Oh, how undeserving I am of such a wonderful gift of salvation!

God knew I needed a son…for many reasons, I’m sure. In this Christmas season, I realize that I needed Titus to reawaken this beautiful story within my heart. To fan the flames of love and appreciation for the salvation He gave me through His son when I was 7 years old and realized my need for a Savior. How thankful I am for such a sweet reminder this time of year!

As you prepare for Christmas these next few days, may you, too, be reminded of the deep, deep love of Jesus. May we hear within our hearts the first cries He made in the stable that night, and be reminded that those cries were the beginning of something WONDERFUL!

And I would ask you, this Christmas season…have you ever opened the gift that was made possible by Jesus’ birth that night so long ago? Throughout Scripture we read of the FREE GIFT of Salvation, and that it is offered to all who would confess their sins and believe in Jesus. Just like a gift has to be opened at Christmastime, the gift of salvation must be opened and made personal. My prayer is that each person who reads this will examine their hearts this Christmas season, be reminded of God’s great gift, and make that gift personal if you haven’t yet done so.

For to us a child is born, to us a son is given; and the government shall be upon his shoulder, and his name shall be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace. – Isaiah 9:6

Merry Christmas, Everyone!! God Bless!!

