I hope everyone had a fantastic Thanksgiving yesterday! What a great day to be reminded of all the blessings that have been bestowed upon us. My heart was overflowing with thanks yesterday, and I trust that thankfulness will continue through the coming days.

Today’s “Friday Favorite” is causing my house to smell amazing this afternoon!

HOMEMADE CHICKEN STOCK
(this time it’s turkey stock, as I used the bones from yesterday’s Thanksgiving turkey)

The first time I heard of homemade chicken stock, I was extremely intimidated. After all, wasn’t it just easier to pick up a box of Swanson Broth at HyVee?! Deciding to give it a try, I was pleasantly surprised how easy it is to make, and how wonderfully flavorful it is…so much more so than the boxed stuff!

After some research, I found out how truly nourishing homemade chicken stock is. So chocked-full of nutrients and enzymes, and so helpful and comforting when you’re sick.

My method is easy and kinda thrown-together, but it works! I use the leftover bones, skin, ect. from a whole chicken (or turkey like I did today). Toss in a few carrots, a couple stalks of celery, a coarsely chopped onion, some parsley, and any other veggie scraps you might have on hand. (I often save  potato peelings in the freezer for use in my stock.) Toss that all together in a crockpot, and fill to the top with filtered water. I also put in 2 Tablespoons of Apple Cider Vinegar, as the vinegar helps to release all the good healthy stuff from the bones. Turn your crockpot on high for a few hours until it boils, and then turn it to low for the remainder of the day. You can cook it for however long you want, depending on how flavorful you want your stock. I cook mine for at least 12 hours, and have been known to do it for a full 24 hours, too.

Once it’s done in the crockpot, strain all the bones, veggies, ect, and put the liquid stock into glass jars to freeze. I freeze mine in 1-quart canning jars. This yummy goodness is so versatile. I use it in homemade soup, chicken ‘n dumplings, savory breads, and I use it in place of water when cooking rice, quinoa, and couscous.

Take it from someone who used to think this was crazy…it’s really not that hard, and the restults are SO WORTH IT!! Give it a try sometime!

Happy Cooking! 🙂

