Not quite 4 months postpartum, and I’m head over heels in love with this little man.

Unfortunately, postpartum days have also brought feelings of inadequacy and quite frankly, ugliness.

Four months postpartum, and I’m still hanging onto 25 pounds that desperately need to leave my body.

Four months postpartum, and my hair has not quit falling out in large handfuls each morning and evening (and I didn’t have much hair to begin with!) Thank you, hormones!

Four months postpartum, and my body just isn’t like it used to be.

Then God leads me to this verse, and I’m instantly convicted.

1 Peter 3:3-4 Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as elaborate hairstyles and the wearing of gold jewelry or fine clothes.  Rather, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.

Reminding myself today that my definition of beauty needs to be re-vamped. God is working on my heart, and even though it hurts sometimes, I’m slowly learning. In the meantime, I’ll keep wearing those same ‘ol outfits (the only ones that fit), I’ll throw on a hat to hide my thinning hair, and I’ll continue to pray that God will fashion within me a heart and a spirit that honors Him. This hasn’t been an easy lesson so far, but I know it’s one worth learning.

