My 6-year old complains that she feels alone at school and that nobody plays with her on the playground.
The mommy in me wants to go to the playground and fix her problems for her…shield her from any hurt and disappointment. 

My 4-year old screams for 45 minutes that she doesn’t want to go to preschool, and clings to my leg when the teachers take her to hang up her name tag.
The mommy in me wants to take her back home and tell her she doesn’t have to go.

My 2-month old has screamed for days on end because of tummy reactions to a change in formula.
The mommy in me beats myself up for not being able to nurse him, and wonders why I can’t have at least one baby without tummy issues. I went to great lengths to ensure this wouldn’t happen, and yet it did. I blame myself. 

What is the mommy in me? It’s that side of me that wants to FIX EVERYTHING.  It’s the conceited belief that I can and should make everything perfect for my children.

Guess What?

That mommy side of me makes for one unhappy mommy when she figures out that she can’t make everything perfect. God doesn’t ask me to be perfect. He asks me to rest in Him…to cast all my cares upon Him because He cares for me (and my children.) (1 Peter 5:7)

I’m learning what one of my favorite bloggers writes…”Life is not an emergency. Life is a gift. Just slow.”

So today, I choose to slow down. To stop frantically trying to fix everything, and simply trust. Trust that my God loves my children even more than I do, and that in His hands is the best place for them to be.

Today, I will slow down, and I will trust.

