Wow…it’s been far too long since I’ve blogged! I’ve missed it, and I am not quite sure where to start with updates.

I wasn’t aware that I apparently signed myself up for summer school this year. Not your typical academic summer school…no, this school that I began was a much harder and more important one. The School of Life has taught me much this summer. Here are a few lessons I’ve learned:

1) The truth of James 4:14 : “How do you know what your life will be like tomorrow? Your life is like the morning fog-it’s here a little while, and then it’s gone.”
My dear friend Sara lost her mother this summer to an unexpected stroke. My other dear friend, Rebecca, lost her long battle to cancer this summer and is experiencing no more pain as       she joined the heavenly host. Another friend’s mother is currently fighting for her life at a local hospital. While Heaven gained two wonderful women this summer, they are missed greatly on earth. Perspective was gained in my heart as I grieved with their families…my life is like the morning fog-here for a little while, and then gone. So, I ask myself…what am I doing in this short lifetime, and do all my strivings matter in eternity? Perspective is powerful.

2) Cancer Stinks
I don’t think I’ll ever forget the afternoon I found out that my mom had breast cancer. It was so surreal and unbelievable…yet, it was such a reminder to me of the fact that we have no control over what happens to us in this lifetime. It seems that cancer is affecting so many precious people, and the Lord has used my mom’s cancer to make me more sensitive to others walking that path.

3) My mother is FABULOUS! While I already knew that and believed it with all my heart, seeing her walk this nasty path of breast cancer has shown me just how wonderful she really is.

I love you more than ever, Mom! 

4) Life is a gift
12:32 PM on June 30th reminded me of how precious life is. Holding my new baby boy in my arms after a hard labor filled my heart with joy and extreme gratitude.  I am in love with this little boy!! So thankful for the three little lives the Lord has gifted us with. May we raise them for His honor and glory!

5) I am a very selfish person!
There is nothing like sleepless nights for weeks on end to show me just how selfish I can be. Many nights passed the first two weeks after Titus was born that I got angry about the serious lack of sleep I was experiencing. The Lord graciously showed me how selfish I was being, and I’m slowly learning to enjoy those middle-of-the-night feedings. Once I began to focus my energy and thoughts on what a blessing it was to have a new baby to feed in the middle of the night, I have begun to see my tiredness differently. Am I still tired? YES! I’m just learning to look at it differently, and it makes for a much happier momma!

6) Diaper changes on little boys are much different than little girls!
We’ve been peed on many times, and even saw Titus get pee in Daddy’s coffee cup!! Now that’s some serious aim!

7) Children bring opportunity for conversation I could have never imagined.
The following conversation really happened after Jayda and Nadia went on a hunt around the neighborhood to find the shells of those nasty locust bugs we can hear each night.
Me (in a VERY exasperated voice): “Nadia, why on earth are you chopping up locust shells on the kitchen table with a butter knife?!?!?!”
Nadia: “I just don’t like these locusts, and I wanted them to go away. So I chopped them up.”
Really?!?! Never would have seen that one coming. Suffice it to say there were lots of Lysol wipes involved after that!

8) God is good ALL the time!
What a mighty God we serve! Thank you Lord for lessons, big and small!

