Our drive to the hospital last night was filled with excitement as we anticipated our first glimpse at my new nephew, Connor Steven.

Isn’t he a doll?! Oh, how quickly I forget how tiny newborns are!

My heart was overflowing as I held him last night…such an amazing feeling to rejoice at the life he has been given, while at the same time rejoicing at the life bouncing and kicking within my womb.

My heart and mind have been on memory lane since Connor’s birth yesterday. Reminiscing about our first days as new parents over 6 years ago has conjured up so many emotions as we prepare for the birth of our third miracle.

I was thinking of the person I was when I became a mother for the first time…a woman so in love with this tiny new life, yet so unprepared for the journey that lay ahead. In all honesty, I thought I’d have the whole “motherhood” thing figured out quite quickly. After all, I’d babysat for years and years…surely I would adapt well to the care-taking of my little blessing.

Oh, how proud and naive I was! There was so much more to motherhood than I could have ever imagined!

Fast forward 6 1/2 years to the woman I am today. Entering my third trimester with our third baby, I am more convinced than ever that I can change diapers, feed, bathe, and clothe this little man who will enter our lives soon. Interesting, though, that amidst that confidence is complete and utter dependence…not on myself and my “knowledge,” but on the Lord for his wisdom and guidance.

You see, I don’t think I ever stopped to consider my role as a mother in the spiritual lives of my children. Sure, I had thought of it before Jayda was born…but until I walked the path of motherhood, I didn’t fully understand it. Now more than ever I desire to train my children to love the Lord with all their hearts, souls, and minds…to teach them to walk the path that may be less traveled, but is never less blessed. This in itself is more overwhelming than the round-the-clock-feedings! I desire with my whole heart to do this one job well!

Instead of rambling even more, I’ll link this video that encapsulates everything my heart desires for my little ones. Please watch it, and have a Kleenex handy…I still cry every time I watch it!

Jayda, Nadia, and Titus…you are blessings from Heaven. May I always point you to the Creator who gave you life, and may you always find solace in His love.

