Today has been one of those days…you know, the ones you wish you could start all over again.

To be completely honest and transparent, I’ve felt quite defeated and discouraged in my quest to be the momma that I want to be to my children. On top of that, I’ve been feeling insecure about the well-being of the precious boy growing inside of me. I can’t shake the feeling that something is wrong, even though I have no solid ground on which to base that feeling.

Rather than feel sorry for myself and wallow in the “bad” part of the day, I felt the Lord leading me to focus on something entirely different. What follows is a list of some of the small, yet profound things, that bring me great joy:

*quiet moments in the morning

*hungry mouths devouring a nourishing breakfast I baked before they opened their sleepy little eyes

*the worn pages of a good book

*steaming coffee with real cream

*nourishing foods that my family likes

*naps on the couch

*smiles (especially from my kids)

*a backrub from my husband

*beautiful design details

*all things vintage

*crossing things off of my never-ending “to do” list

*black and white photographs

*feeling very “pioneer-like” in purchasing my first two pieces of cast iron cookware

*And, paramount to them all, I’m thankful for the deep, deep love of Jesus…especially on days like today.

