It’s true…I LOVE me some homemade things! I love being the recipient, but even more, I love to experiment and make new homemade items.  Several on my recent “favorite” list:

1) Cultured Dairy called Pima
This is a homemade dairy product very similar in texture to yogurt. We use it in our smoothies. It’s chocked FULL of awesome probiotics, and helps to maintain a good immune system. It’s quite common around here for my kids to enjoy a smoothie made with pima, frozen berries, spinach leaves (seriously), wheat germ, and a little Stevia for sweetener. They think it’s awesome (as do we!), and they have no clue how healthy it is for them! In the summer we use the leftovers and turn them into Popsicles for a healthy treat on a hot day. Here’s what Nadia looked like after devouring her smoothie today:

Notice the remains of smoothie all over her face-even on her forehead!!

2) Homemade Healthy Poptarts
I tried making these this morning, and with pretty good results. The girls liked them, and I thought they were very good…as long as you weren’t expecting it to taste EXACTLY like an actual poptart. I’ll probably make the dough thinner next time, add a bit more filling, and bake them until they’re a little crispier. Overall, they made for a keeper of a recipe. Why did I make them homemade? Well, here’s the list of ingredients in mine:
whole wheat flour
sea salt
butter
yogurt
organic strawberry jelly

Here’s the list of ingredients from the poptart box:
ENRICHED FLOUR (WHEAT FLOUR, NIACINAMIDE, REDUCED IRON, THIAMIN MONONITRATE [VITAMIN B1], RIBOFLAVIN [VITAMIN B2], FOLIC ACID), SUGAR, DEXTROSE, VEGETABLE OIL (SOYBEAN, PALM, COTTONSEED AND/OR HYDROGENATED COTTONSEED OIL† WITH TBHQ AND CITRIC ACID FOR FRESHNESS), CORN SYRUP, WHEY, CRACKER MEAL, HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP, COCOA, CONTAINS TWO PERCENT OR LESS OF CORNSTARCH, COCOA PROCESSED WITH ALKALI, SALT, LEAVENING (BAKING SODA, SODIUM ACID PYROPHOSPHATE, MONOCALCIUM PHOSPHATE), MODIFIED CORN STARCH, MONO- AND DIGLYCERIDES, SODIUM STEAROYL LACTYLATE, GELATIN, DRIED EGG WHITES, DATEM, PARTIALLY HYDROGENATED SOYBEAN OIL†, MODIFIED WHEAT STARCH, XANTHAN GUM, NATURAL VANILLA FLAVOR, CARAMEL COLOR, SOY LECITHIN, CALCIUM PHOSPHATE, COLOR ADDED, NIACINAMIDE, REDUCED IRON, VITAMIN A PALMITATE, PYRIDOXINE HYDROCHLORIDE (VITAMIN B6), RIBOFLAVIN (VITAMIN B2), THIAMIN HYDROCHLORIDE (VITAMIN B1), FOLIC ACID.

Yeah, over 50 ingredients…most of which I cannot even pronounce! Hence the reason for trying the homemade ones.

#3) Homemade Salve
This was an interesting experiment this last week, but I am THRILLED with the results! I recently placed an order for loose herbs to use in herbal tea for my pregnancy. As I perused the website, I saw an herbal mixture used to make a homemade salve. The salve can be used on cuts, scrapes, burns, rashes, and used as diaper ointment. I was intrigued, so I purchased it. The process was quite involved, but it was so worth it! First, I had to soak the herbs in mason jars filled with coconut oil for THREE days in a crockpot! My dear girlfriends “lovingly” made fun of my adventure, and referred to me as “Dr. Quinn Medicine Woman!” Hey, go ahead and laugh…but this stuff turned out awesome!Once that was done, I took the herbal infused oil and mixed it with beeswax to make the salve. I poured this into small containers, and let it set overnight. As it cooled, it turned a funny green color, and I was getting a little skeptical.

My skepticism was put to rest when I tried it on Nadia’s chapped little cheeks last night. She’s got a cold, and she normally has chapped cheeks for days when she’s not feeling well. I put some of my salve onto her cheeks, put her to bed, and her little cheeks are clear as can be this morning! I’m anxious to try it in place of antibiotic ointment to see if it works well. I love that all the ingredients are organic and wholesome, and that it worked so well on her dry skin.

So, those are some of my new favorites…..what are some of your favorite homemade things?

