I took my horse-loving girls to see the Disney movie, Secretariat, last weekend.  Although the movie was a bit long for them, they loved the story of this incredible race horse. It was a very moving story of one woman’s un-yeilding desire to see her horse win the most prestigious prize in the horse-racing industry. Let’s just say Jayda and Nadia now ride their scooters up and down the sidewalk yelling, “it’s Secretariat, the first Triple Crown Winner!!!” 🙂

I was deeply impacted by a particular phrase in a song that played at the end of the movie…”choose your race, and then run it.” Such a simple phrase, but it made my mind spin. Oh, how many “races” I could choose to run in this life…the possibilities are endless. However, I would never have enough stamina to run them all well. So, what are the races that are worth running in my life? I so desire to run these “races” with all that I can:

*My race as a daughter of the King of Kings
Lord, you have given me blessings outnumbered in this “race” called life. I want to devote this “race” completely to you. Take my feet as I run, and lead them where you desire. May my eyes always be fixed on you, and may my feet always run well the race set before me. 1 Corinthians 9:24

*My race as a wife
Tanner, I am so grateful to be running this “race” with you at my side.  I could not have asked for a better running partner. You’re an incredible husband and father, and I am so thankful for all you do for our family. I love you more with each passing year, and I pray that the Lord will bless us with many more years together. Thank you for sticking with me on the “race,” even when I get tuckered out sometimes. I love you so much!

*My race as a mother
Jayda and Nadia, what an incredible addition to this “race” you are! God crafted you just for your daddy and I, and we are so blessed to be your parents. More importantly, God crafted you each with special gift, abilities, and talents to use for His glory. Love Jesus, my girls…love Him, seek Him, and follow Him all the days of your life. May you run your “races” with endurance as you seek to please your Creator. We are so proud of you, and we love you more than you’ll ever know!

Some days my “races” are more exciting than others. Today may not be overly exciting, but I’m going to go run my “race” today with boldness and endurance. May you all run yours the same way, as well.

