Wow…it has been FOREVER since I’ve blogged!

These verses from Proverbs 16 sum up what the Lord has been teaching me the last six weeks or so:

The plans of the heart belong to man, but the answer of the tongue is from the Lord.

The Lord has made everything for its purpose.

The heart of man plans his way, but the Lord establishes his steps.

A couple months ago, I had made so many plans that I was excited about…training for a 5K, beginning some preschool curriculum at home for Nadia since we decided not to send her yet, being more diligent to get up early each morning, a long list of house project…the list could go on and on.

All those plans changed when we woke up to this on August 10th and again on August 11th:

This was the first night...the second night we had between 12-15 inches over the ENITRE basement.

This bookshelf was even on cinder blocks, and the water still rose well above the bottom shelf.

During the heavy rains last month, the city storm sewer backed up through our floor drain in the basement on two different nights. I had no idea how disturbing it would be to find all of our belongings floating in the basement.

The cleanup process was exhausting, the insurance claims frustrating, and a long road to put it all back together. My aforementioned plans got turned upside down overnight. I haven’t ran in almost two months. There has been little to no educational projects with Nadia this school year. I’ve only been getting an average of 5 hours of sleep each night, so the early morning thing isn’t working out so well.

Nonetheless, I am grateful. I’m grateful for what the Lord has taught us over the last several weeks. We’ve learned much about our plans versus God’s plans, and even though we don’t understand them sometimes, they’re always for the best.

So, picking up from a post well over a month ago, here’s my continued list of gratitude:

#11) time with my sister and mom last night-I love those two! 🙂

#12) cool weather

#13) my amazing garage sale finds yesterday

#14) fall decorations

#15) snuggles with my girls

#16) coffee with cream on a Saturday morning

#17) a washer and dryer-going weeks without one sure taught me how much I took them for granted!

#18) Jayda’s exploding knowledge-she LOVES kindergarten, and she’s learning a TON!

#19) imagniation

#20) answered prayer

