What a busy weekend!  It was a fun one, but busy for sure.

My thoughts are all jumbled in my head today, so forgive the randomness of this post. Really, the post is dedicated to my dear, sweet daughters…I was reminded of so many things this past weekend, and I want to share my heart with you.

You daddy and I went to a concert Friday night at Ankeny Summerfest. Your Nanny and Papa had you spend the night with them, and you had a great time! I was so grateful for some time away with your daddy-he is truly and amazing man, and you are so blessed to be able to have him as a daddy. I thank God for him, and I just wanted to remind you how much he loves you.

Oh, the thoughts that ran through my mind as we sat and listened to the concert. We were surrounded by young girls and women of all ages whose actions and the way there were dressed were less than appropriate. My heart was heavy as I cried out to God on your behalf. Oh, how I desire for you to be young women who love and follow after the Lord. Honestly, I’m not sure I heard most of the music at the concert that night…it was simply background noise compared to how loud my heart was crying out for the Lord to protect you-to light a fire within your heart for Him that cannot be squelched. I was reminded of several verses:

*1 Peter 3:3-4   “Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as braided hair and the wearing of gold jewelry and fine clothes. Instead, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.”

The amount of skin showing on some of the women at the concert that night was embarrassing! Girls, don’t misunderstand me…there is nothing wrong with fun clothes, pretty makeup and beautiful hair; however, I was reminded Friday night how very much the outward beauty of girls and women is stressed in society today. As you grow, remember where your true beauty is found, and commit this verse to memory. May you find true contentment in the beauty you possess within you.

*Luke 10:27  “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’; and, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.”

This sums up the desire of my heart for you, girls. Love, love, love the Lord-with all that you have! Seek first His kingdom, and everything else will fall into place according to His perfect plan. The second part of this verse came to mind as I witnessed how very disrespectful some of the teenagers were at Summerfest this weekend. Jayda and Nadia, please love and consider others. Speak kindly, mind your manners, respect your elders…may the words of your mouths and the meditation of your hearts be pleasing to the Lord. (Psalm 19:14)

Now, for some of the more light-hearted lessons I learned this weekend.

1) Attending the Ankeny Summerfest Parade does not line up with my desire to eat whole and natural foods. I’m pretty sure a GIGANTIC Pixie Stick does not fall into that category. 🙂

2) My little Nadia will not be allowed to swim any more this summer until she learns to do her “business” in the potty. Let’s just say her upset stomach and the new aquatic center made for a humiliating experience for both of us!

3) Spending $6 for your child to ride the carousel ONCE is totally worth it when you see the smile on their face.

4) Sometimes you have to break your own rules. Letting the girls eat a JUMBO corn dog while watching the fireworks FAR past their bedtime was both relaxing and fun. 🙂

5) I won’t ever give Nadia corn on the cob again. It gave her sensitive stomach such bad cramps that we were on our way to Urgent Care to see what in the world was going on…I’ve never seen her scream in such pain. Thankfully, she fell asleep (probably from the exhaustion of crying to hard), and we narrowly escaped the Urgent Care. Yeah, no more corn for her.

6) Jayda LOVES to fish with her great-grandpa. I wish they lived closer.  She’s a country girl for sure.

She caught two fish on one hook!

Oh, the lessons that can be learned from one weekend! 🙂 What lessons are you learning lately?

