Happy 4th of July everyone! I am so thankful today for all the men and women who serve our country to ensure our freedom. Even more deeply runs my gratitude for Jesus, who lived and died in order to give me the ULTIMATE freedom.

So, I thought I’d blog about some of the changes around the Archer house lately. Where should I start?

1) We’re getting closer and closer to having a Kindergartener! I can’t believe that my “baby” will be in school! How does the time go so fast?!

Jayda, you're growing up before our very eyes! But, you'll always be my little girl!

2) I have been super-challenged by the following website: http://www.inspiredtoaction.com

The website is moderated by a Christian stay-at-home mom who gives very practical advice about how to get everything done and still have some sanity left at the end of the day. 🙂 I’d been feeling like I just didn’t have enough hours in the day to do everything I needed and wanted to do. Her material has helped me to plan my days out in such a way that they are starting to function a little more smoothly.

The hardest part about it is that my only time to really accomplish some of the things I felt behind on is at 5:15 in the morning! So, I’m trying to get used to going to bed earlier in order to wake up, exercise, read my Bible, and get ready for the day before my children get up.

3) Which brings me to the next change…exercise. For the last few months that word has not been part of my vocabulary, and my clothes are fitting tight enough to show it! I ran a couple times last week, and realized just how very out of shape I am! So, starting this week I’ll be starting the Cool Runnings “Couch to 5K” training program. I’m hoping to run the Race for the Cure 5K in October.

4) Each week during the month of June, I attended a nutrition class hosted by a friend of mine. I have been challenged and a little overwhelmed as I seek to plan our menus and cook for my family in a way that NOURISHES us all…not just slapping some food on a plate and calling it dinner. But, cooking in a way that provides the best nourishment to their bodies. It’s been a fun challenge. We’ve tried some foods that have been a huge hit, and others that we’ll have to perfect. My kids are troopers, and I’m so thankful that they’re willing to try new things! (I even got Jayda to not hate taking her fish oil supplement each day!) 🙂

Anyhoo…that’s what’s going on around here. I’m hoping to post some pictures later this week about some of the house projects I’ve been working on. In the meantime, here’s some more pictures from our summer. Enjoy!

Our trip to the zoo with the Johnson's

Girls' trip the the Perry Tea Room

