I thought I’d post some pictures of my favorite renovation of our home…our kitchen.

We bought our house not quite a year and a half ago, and we loved it’s potential. The house was not selling, our realtor thought, because not many people could see past its current state of u-g-l-y, and see the hidden potential that laid beneath. We, however, were up for the challenge!

The kitchen when we moved in was terrible…straight from the ’70’s. Take a look…

Pretty bad, huh?

We really wanted new cabinets, but were very naive about how much it would cost. After pricing them out, we opted for priming and painting them instead. Here’s a in-progress picture:

I REALLY wanted more counter space and storage, so we started pricing out kitchen islands and/or extra cabinets. Once again, we were surprised at the cost and decided that we just couldn’t swing it. My favorite part about our kitchen re-do is that I truly believe God knew how much I wanted that extra counter space and storage, and He provided! My best friend and I found an row of kitchen cabinets at Salvation Army for $29.99…it fit perfectly! What was once an L-shaped kitchen then became a wonderful U-shaped kitchen with more storage and workspace! Here’s another in-progress picture showing my thrift store steal!  

After MANY late nights, loads of paint, new countertops, and hard work, here’s our new kitchen:

The kitchen is SO much better than it was, but it’s not quite done…we would LOVE to replace the linoleum floors with a rich-colored rustic-looking hardwood floor. I also need a window treatment for the window above the sink. Hopefully we’ll be able to replace the flooring sometime within the next year.

I learned so much through this whole kitchen re-do process…mostly, I learned that a fresh coat of paint can make a WORLD of a difference. We really didn’t spend much money on this re-do, and it was fun to see how much it changed with so little cash. 🙂

Anyhoo, thanks for letting me share my decorating passion! Hope you enjoyed it! 🙂

