I’m learning an awful lot from my youngest daughter, Nadia. Those of you who know her well will chuckle as you read this because anyone who knows her knows how very active, strong-willed, but so darn cute she is! You can’t help but get upset with her one second, and laugh at her the next-although, I wouldn’t really recommend it, and we try very hard not to laugh when she’s in trouble. 🙂

We honestly started to wonder a few weeks ago if she had a hearing problem. Then we realized that it is just SELECTIVE hearing…a problem, indeed, but nothing medical! When Nadia is in the midst of something, it’s next to impossible to get her attention when you’re asking her or telling her to do something. Jayda is so opposite…she can do a hundred things at once and still understand what you’re saying to her. But not Nadia-she’s a one-thing-at-a-time kinda girl. Long story short, we have realized over the last several days that Nadia hears EVERYTHING we say to her while she’s acting like she’s not hearing us…she’s just choosing to ignore us! Oh, it frustrates me and we have had so many disciplining issues because of it.

As I was laying in bed the other night praying for her, it hit me like a ton of bricks…I am the SAME as Nadia when it comes to listening to the Word of God sometimes. Oh, I hear what it says alright…I just CHOOSE not to listen to it at the time. Just as she CHOOSES to ignore her daddy and mommy sometimes, I have CHOSEN to ignore the loving commands and guidance of my Heavenly Father before.

Proverbs 15:1 “A gentle answer turns away wrath, but harsh words stir up anger.”   I know that’s what the Bible says, and I believe it’s true…yet, I often CHOOSE not to use a gentle answer with my children or my husband.

Exodus 20:3 “You shall have no other gods before Me, declares the Lord.”  I think that I love the Lord with ALL my heart, until I realize I’ve let other things crowd my desire and longing for Him alone. It’s not that I can’t love Him with all my heart, it’s that I sometimes CHOOSE to put other things before Him.

James 1:22 “Do not merely listen to the Word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what is says.” Wow…that verse really hit me where I’m at today. I do not want to be merely a hearer of the Word of God. I want to do what it says!

All in all, I’m continually amazed at what I learn from my children. They have brought me so much more joy and love than I could ever have imagined! They’ve also taught me more about myself than I could ever have imagined or wanted to know…I’m telling you, the inside of my heart isn’t very pretty sometimes.

On a much lighter note, I’m painting again! (Surprise, surprise!)  I’m tired of my dark family room, so I’m lightening it up with a much lighter wall color as well as painting all the trim white. Just yesterday I painted our brick fireplace…it was a really dark and ugly brick color, so I painted it a creamy-white to match the trim-huge difference already! I’ll post before and after pictures when it’s done. In the meantime, here’s some before and after shots of our recent master bedroom re-do…it’s amazing the difference some patience, persistence, and lots of paint can make!

A very ugly and depressing "before" shot...desperately in need of paint!

Ahhh, MUCH better!

My inspiration for the bedroom-three 12-foot sections of old, red barnwood I found at a flea market. I love the look of the clean-lined, modern furniture mixed with the look of the old, distressed barnwood.

